See other Vancouver properties

St. Clair Hotel and Hostel

577 Richards St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 71% from 20 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first experience using a hostel. The place was old but very clean. The other guests were really nice and I enjoyed the conversations with them while staying there. Loved being downtown without spending a lot of money. I plan to go here again, Next time I will save more money by taking advantage of using the refrigerator and microwave that was available on my floor. Thanks for the Great experience!
  • 80%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Eric Canada
  • I only stayed here for two nights but i wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place. A great deal for what you pay, the staff were friendly and helpful when i needed it, the location's perfect - close to everything. The area's not great with a few shady characters hanging around but it's no big deal.
  • 86%
  • 09 Nov 2013 David Australia
  • The shared toilets and baths were only cleaned a few times during our stay of 8 days. It was very unhygienic. Also the room was very dirty and never cleaned. We found old food and empty bottles in the room, when we checked in. After 5 days we asked for clean towels and bed linen, and also asked them to clean bathrooms and baths.
  • 46%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Jannie Denmark
  • Great place, good value for the money, and a really great location.
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Brianna Canada
  • Cheap, creaky bunk beds crowded into a tiny room. No nautural daylight. Bad bad air quality and smells due to bad ventilation. Windows open onto airshaft over loud bar - no view. Moldy smelling showers. NO sink for washing hands after using the toilet. No kitchen. No breakfast. Just a few crappy dishes. No reception after 9pm to let you in or answer questions. Piles of dust and bottle caps behind the limited furniture. Ugly and tiny communal space, do I need to continue? Becasue I can....
  • 34%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I was very happy to find a good location with reasonable price accommodation.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • I really enjoy this hostel! Congratulations
  • 83%
  • 06 Jul 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Although it was not so clean, the location was excellent!!
  • 80%
  • 18 Jun 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • on our floor, dirty dishes stayed during 5 days, and nobody in the staff take the responsability to clean it... i know it's not their job but after 5 days do it!... The showers was never clean during 5 days, always the same hairs inside and old soap. No kitchen, just a small and very dirty microwave, and the same for the fridge. room was dirty, and too small no activity is organized inside the backpacker, no organisation for booking extra night. I do not recommend for sure this place.
  • 43%
  • 02 Jun 2013 Pierre Henri
  • Cheap. Not Clean. NO Kitchen.
  • 40%
  • 28 May 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »