See other New Orleans properties

St. Vincent's Guesthouse

1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 59% from 25 reviews

  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 56%Security
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My sister communicated via email that we're arriving early ...before 7:30am.....we were @ the door of the hostel & was able to communicate with night manager that we needed to get in ... Her response was she was not able to open door for us because she was assisting other guest ... Then she passed by the hallway of the front of the hostel ...we were standing at the door ....still ..this woman never opened the door for us ...we stood till past 7:30am and finally let ourselves in when another
  • 54%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Lourdes USA
  • This is a budget hostel/hotel charging very high prices for mediocre facilities. During my stay the city was experiencing a cold snap and the whole building was freezing cold. I was literally shivering all night. They had limited space heaters and didn't have enough extra blankets. There are also cockroaches everywhere. There are definitely way better options for the price you pay.
  • 31%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Jesse Canada
  • No heating, no hot water in the shower and no extra blankets in a 35 degrees cool winter day. Good luck if you can get a warm day in NOLA.
  • 54%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Aislan Brazil
  • St. Vincent's guest house is great. I am so glad to have had the opportunity to stay here. In the mixed dorm I stayed in everyone was fun, kind, and respectful. I left my phone and GoPro plugged into the wall to charge while I left to get coffee & they were totally safe along with all the other phones charging around the room. We were all there for the same reason and respectful of other people's things. The staff was incredibly kind and went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect!
  • 100%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Jessica
  • Dirty. Uncomfortable. No facilities at all. I preferes to spend time in the street than going back to the hostel. Don't stay there
  • 40%
  • 04 Feb 2015 julia maria Argentina
  • My biggest hurdle here was the cold. The building is an almost 200 year old orphanage and has no heat whatsoever. This was a big problem for me, as the private rooms are quite large and drafty, and I was there in January. I had to actually buy a small block heater for the weekend, returned it when I left. That aside, the showers were hot, the staff helpful and friendly, the location great. Very authentic atmosphere, and the walk to the Quarter was nice. The Cafe across the street was excellent.
  • 60%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Parker Canada
  • The staff was very welcoming and they were helpful when we asked how to get to places. The actual building is older but I think it adds character to the experience.
  • 77%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is not a hostel, it's a halfway house for the homeless. My dorm was filthy; I was given dirty linen which had stains and the mattress smelt of urine. I was frightened that I would get bedbugs. As a single woman, I felt really unsafe staying at St Vincent's and as a result I checked out early.
  • 40%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Abbie Australia
  • I contacted this hostel the day before my stay to verify that I had a reservation. I was rudely told that I did not have a reservation and then was hung up upon. I was then charged for one night because I did not show up for my reservation. Trying to get my money back I was told that they would call me (they didn't) that they had sent me an email (they didn't) and that I had violated their cancellation policy (How when I was told I had no reservation?) Do not go to this place!
  • 20%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Cris USA
  • Fairly good location (the Fr. Qr. is reachable by bus within 15 min). Private room turned out to be clean. However its cold in the winter, because there is no heating.Service at the front desk had trouble finding our reservation, then it turned out that they do not have change. However U can pay by credit card. The building is generally creepy.Strange people around. No place to do the laundry. The building has a kitchen but there is no cutlery, vessels, etc. During our stay it was quiet.
  • 60%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »