See other New Orleans properties

St. Vincent's Guesthouse

1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 69% from 21 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Long walk to the French Quarter, if you need naps while drinking. Stay in the quarter.
  • 63%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Barbara
  • The staff was very friendly and accomodated us well. The bunk beds, pillows, linens, and towels were great and the showers had plenty of hot water. The hostel is in a scenic neighborhood with lots to explore and eat. The only problem was that one person out of our group of twelve got bed bug bites all over their body.
  • 77%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Nick USA
  • At the edge of the Warehouse and Garden districts, on the bus route and a very short walk to the St Charles street car - great location. The staff were really friendly and helped out with internet woes and directions. We had the best mexican dinner just down the road at Juan's Flying Burrito.
  • 89%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The facility was pretty unique, but it is undergoing renovation. The work they were doing didn't interfere with my stay, and I never heard any noise, but it was kind of made the place feel in disrepair, although that did somewhat add to he charm. Some of the staff were friendly, the others kind of gave weird looks like they didn't trust anyone walking in (especially the male staff) made me feel like I didn't belong there.
  • 71%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Neil USA
  • This hostel was worked just fine for us. It was in the neighborhood/area we wanted to be in and we really didnt spend anytime there except to sleep because we had friends nearby. There were cockroaches, and when we first arrived the man who met us (granted it was about 1 in the morning, late anyway) was pretty rude....just not friendly. And then a day or two later a man who worked at the attached restaurant was really rude to us as well when we were trying to cut through to get to our room.
  • 60%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • dirty. lots of roaches, both dead and alive! They charge you $3/person/day extra above what is posted : - ( . employees use the residents bathrooms in the dorms. employees smoke : - ( . could be a beautiful place with some loving care to the property. seems to be operating on bare maintenance levels.
  • 49%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Rebecca USA
  • The worst hostel ever. It is not even hostel, just a shelter
  • 46%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice building, but that's the only good thing. There was dead bugs onmy window and the carpet was disgusting. Moreover, the guest are weird. For the same price I would recommand the India House.
  • 37%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Had lots of problems when I went (it was the jazz fest week end...) No more place in the 8 beds female dorm (which was what I reserved) First night they put me in a 20 beds dorm (luckily people were respectful). Then they sent me in a 10 beds mix dorm... It was a mix ddm because there was ONE girl...me. It was a bit weird BUT the hotel put a lock in the bathroom because I was there. I thought it was very thoughtful of them. Some weird people (long term mostly) BUT amazing staff, really helpful.
  • 69%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Jade Canada
  • Beautiful place with a great, helpful staff. Our room was spacious and clean. Definitely coming back here!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »