See other New Orleans properties

St. Vincent's Guesthouse

1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 68% from 19 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel was worked just fine for us. It was in the neighborhood/area we wanted to be in and we really didnt spend anytime there except to sleep because we had friends nearby. There were cockroaches, and when we first arrived the man who met us (granted it was about 1 in the morning, late anyway) was pretty rude....just not friendly. And then a day or two later a man who worked at the attached restaurant was really rude to us as well when we were trying to cut through to get to our room.
  • 60%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • dirty. lots of roaches, both dead and alive! They charge you $3/person/day extra above what is posted : - ( . employees use the residents bathrooms in the dorms. employees smoke : - ( . could be a beautiful place with some loving care to the property. seems to be operating on bare maintenance levels.
  • 49%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Rebecca USA
  • The worst hostel ever. It is not even hostel, just a shelter
  • 46%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice building, but that's the only good thing. There was dead bugs onmy window and the carpet was disgusting. Moreover, the guest are weird. For the same price I would recommand the India House.
  • 37%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Had lots of problems when I went (it was the jazz fest week end...) No more place in the 8 beds female dorm (which was what I reserved) First night they put me in a 20 beds dorm (luckily people were respectful). Then they sent me in a 10 beds mix dorm... It was a mix ddm because there was ONE girl...me. It was a bit weird BUT the hotel put a lock in the bathroom because I was there. I thought it was very thoughtful of them. Some weird people (long term mostly) BUT amazing staff, really helpful.
  • 69%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Jade Canada
  • Beautiful place with a great, helpful staff. Our room was spacious and clean. Definitely coming back here!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I liked the location of this hostel seeing that it was close to the French quarter and there are a lot of good restaurants and bars close by. There is a great little coffee shop across the street
  • 80%
  • 24 Apr 2014 brian USA
  • Friendly staff, good size private single room, great safe location, excellent value. I would rate my stay as extremely satisfied.
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Enzo USA
  • Never stayed in a hostel before and was plesently surprised. Definitely not a 5 star hotel but a cool place to stay for a few days.
  • 74%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Neely USA
  • The staff we very helpful in recommending local events, restaurants, activities. They were less helpful in the administration of the Guesthouse, and guest services. The organization did not seem interested in establishing a client base or encouraging repeat visits in the slightest. If you are looking for a good location for a narrow budget and you are fairly willing to withstand some grimy accommodation and inflexible management, it may remain an option.
  • 54%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Danica Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »