See other New Orleans properties

St. Vincent's Guesthouse

1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 62% from 25 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 59%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I contacted this hostel the day before my stay to verify that I had a reservation. I was rudely told that I did not have a reservation and then was hung up upon. I was then charged for one night because I did not show up for my reservation. Trying to get my money back I was told that they would call me (they didn't) that they had sent me an email (they didn't) and that I had violated their cancellation policy (How when I was told I had no reservation?) Do not go to this place!
  • 20%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Cris USA
  • Fairly good location (the Fr. Qr. is reachable by bus within 15 min). Private room turned out to be clean. However its cold in the winter, because there is no heating.Service at the front desk had trouble finding our reservation, then it turned out that they do not have change. However U can pay by credit card. The building is generally creepy.Strange people around. No place to do the laundry. The building has a kitchen but there is no cutlery, vessels, etc. During our stay it was quiet.
  • 60%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • I booked a twin room and got a double bed. When I told the manager about the mistake, she told me "If you don't like it, you can leave. As it's a busy time of year", she was very rude. Don't stay here if you have another choice, it's basically a half way house.
  • 37%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Adrian Australia
  • BRRRRRRR!!! This place is probably great in the summer, but it has no central heating, and when New Orleans is cold (it was experiencing an unusual cold snap when I was there) the place is FREEZING! They apparently have some space heaters, but not enough for all the rooms and the place was full up, due to the large conference I was attending. Everyone was sleeping in their coats.
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Clare USA
  • Long walk to the French Quarter, if you need naps while drinking. Stay in the quarter.
  • 63%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Barbara
  • The staff was very friendly and accomodated us well. The bunk beds, pillows, linens, and towels were great and the showers had plenty of hot water. The hostel is in a scenic neighborhood with lots to explore and eat. The only problem was that one person out of our group of twelve got bed bug bites all over their body.
  • 77%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Nick USA
  • At the edge of the Warehouse and Garden districts, on the bus route and a very short walk to the St Charles street car - great location. The staff were really friendly and helped out with internet woes and directions. We had the best mexican dinner just down the road at Juan's Flying Burrito.
  • 89%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The facility was pretty unique, but it is undergoing renovation. The work they were doing didn't interfere with my stay, and I never heard any noise, but it was kind of made the place feel in disrepair, although that did somewhat add to he charm. Some of the staff were friendly, the others kind of gave weird looks like they didn't trust anyone walking in (especially the male staff) made me feel like I didn't belong there.
  • 71%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Neil USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »