See other Taipei properties

Star Hostel Taipei Main Station

4F., No.50, Huayin Street, Datong District, Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 6.4km

Rating: 95% from 74 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was perfect. We are definitely coming back next time we visit Taiwan. Highly recommended!
  • 100%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Amazing place! Will definitely come back!
  • 97%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Atinuke USA
  • With the Star Hostel, it gives me a wonderful experience of staying a hostel. Honestly, it's my first experience of staying at a hostel. It definately puts a sparkling remark in my travel memory. Thanks so much for all staff there ( Mac, Betty, Eric... actually all ). They are being very friendly and helpful to me. All of them always provided me a lot of useful information, advices and support during my solo trip. Because of them, a warm feeling always around me during my trip. Sabrina :)
  • 97%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Excellent as always!! The location is very comfortable to access simen starion and taipei main station. I am always very pleased with their level of service. But not included breakfast. and the map of the hotel's site is wrong. This is the right address 'No.63-1 Xining South Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan'.
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • One of the best Hostels I have ever stay in. I messed up on my accommodation and chose the wrong dates. Silly me! And they were so helpful about fixing it. Also, it is the cleanest place I have ever stayed!
  • 97%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Favorite hostel I've ever stayed at. The rooms were spacious and clean; each bed had a curtain and their own locker. There was an adequate number of sinks, toilets, and showers in the dorms as well as a counter to get ready (important in a female dorm). The common area was awesome too. I wanted to just hang out there. The breakfast included in the morning was very good as well, and the menu changes daily. It was a good environment, and the location was spot on.
  • 100%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at, hands down. It was so clean and comfortable and the staff were exceptional. Plus, this hostel is just so cool. The common areas and the rooms are beautiful. There's even a tree house in the common area. A tree house! And every morning, the staff puts together a gorgeous breakfast for all the guests. They change it up every morning. We had egg salad sandwiches, eggs and toast, and all kinds of fruit. Highly recommend this place!
  • 97%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Star hostel is probably the best place to stay in Taipei if you want to travel on a budget. Staff is great and always ready to do the extra mile to make you happy. The shared area is clean, spacious, convenient and looks good. The hostel is very near Main Train Station and Bus Station, so it's quite convenient if you want to travel in Taiwan. Rooms are small but clean and we'll organized. The double or the twin with ensuite is a good value for your money.
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • One of the best hostels I have staid at. Located directly across from Taipei main station. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff. Large common area, with no tv which I liked. So guests can mingle or chill out
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Wing Keung Australia
  • They should rename this hostel "Five Star Hostel." This is the finest hostel I have ever had the pleasure to use. Everything about it is absolutely 1st Class! They actually serve you a real breakfast. Free washer and dryers are on premises. The beds are large and comfortable with a light and power outlet. An elevator, so no carrying luggage up stairs. The common room is spacious and attractive. Security is great through the use of card door locks. The lockers are big and strong.
  • 100%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »