See other Cologne properties

Station Hostel for Backpackers

Marzellenstr 44-56, Cologne, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 78% from 22 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good position, nice rooms and exellent igenic services, but no wi fi in the room and the workers inside quite nervouses
  • 77%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • It is sweltering in the dorm rooms so open the windows; we forgot to do that and by the morning that room did not smell pleasant. They use an extremely strong smelling chemical in the bathrooms which permeate all the hallways so it kind of sucked to use the bathroom at all (burn your nose kind of chemicals). There were lockers and you could put a deposit down for a lock. Overall, the hostel was okay/somewhat smelly, expensive if you wanted anything more than sheets and amazing location.
  • 69%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The expérience was amazing.
  • 89%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It would be good to have wall fan install in every room to allow air circulation. Room can be rather hot during this period.
  • 80%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Francis Singapore
  • the toilets could be cleaner. the flush mechanism wasn't working in the man's room (the urinal) and the smell was permeating throughout the level. the rubbish in the kitchen was overflowing also. otherwise, very good location, 5 minutes away from the Hbf.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Free wifi only access in lobby and share public place, can't access in the bedroom! The location is so closed to main train station!
  • 69%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Chung Hong Kong
  • This hostel is in ideal location if you want to explore city center. Too bad, there were no rooms and I can be here only for one night.
  • 80%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Belarus
  • Close to hauptbahnhof and to grocery stores and eateries. Very good map, with marked points of interest and descriptions. Check out the free walking tour, I couldn't even find it online. Wifi only in common areas. No breakfast, not even paid, but the kitchen is pretty good. Rooms large and clean with lots of shelf space. Toilets small and average cleanliness. Lockers rather inconvenient.
  • 77%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Great location near Cologne Hauptbahnhof (Main Station). Friendly, helpful staff. Card key access to the stairway and rooms. Lockers are available in the corridors, all are watched on CCTV. My only complaint about the Station Hostel is the WiFi is limited to the lounge on the first floor. There are free computers to use in the bar area on ground floor, so it isn't that much of a problem. I'll be back again.
  • 97%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I saw a mouse in the kitchen! It was awful!!!
    Owner Comment

    We are sorry if you were frightened by a mouse..the problem is unfortunately caused by guests who dont leave the kitchen the way they would wish to find it.

  • 69%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Tetiana Ukraine
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »