See other Amsterdam properties

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 79% from 23 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was tip top except that the breakfast bread was a little cheap and the ventilation in the bathrooms didn't seem to work
  • 77%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Lineas
  • Big hostel in a great location. Apart from the location, this hostel doesn't have too much going for it. The staff was pretty cold, the whole experience wasn't personalised at all. The check-in process felt like listening to a recording. Other than that, 20 person rooms are too big, not well ventilated (smelt bad), lockers are outside the room, there's one big common bathroom for the whole hostel, the rooms barely have any outlets to charge your electronics... Also bad for meeting other guests
  • 69%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The ambiance of this hostel is pretty cool, very mellow. The location is awesome, very close-walking distance- to pretty much everywhere. My only complaints are that 5 minutes after we checked in, the power went out, then the next day the credit card machine went down AND there wasn't running water for a couple of hours. Thankfully we checked out the next day, but I felt bad for people who couldn't get an honest shower in after all of the other things happened.
  • 74%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Casey
  • Wifi: only avaliable in the reception and bar it is also very slow. Rooms: large but light . The door slams really loudly when it closes which seemed to happen a lot in a 20 man dorm.
  • 71%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Reading all the reviews I was concerned about outlets......not even terrible. First off my room had a power strip, so 4 outlets instead of 1. Also, there was alwasy a spot to charge in the lobby or bar area, so in the end it was no issue at all. Breakfast was pretty standard besides the coffee machine thing which was AHHHmazing. Of course when you sleep in a room of like 10 girls in their twenties it's going to get noisy and betches are going to be uncourteous. GREAT LOCATION!!!!!
  • 74%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good location, good breakfast, good facilities. Staff from the reception is not friendly. Staff from bar is nice. I can recommend this hostel is just to sleep/bath. It's impossible to socialize because you can do anything or you will be reprimanded, i.e. if you speak a little louder.
  • 57%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Ana Portugal
  • great place, great stuff!
  • 94%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Absolutely loved our stay in this hostel! We were given plastic entry keys that allow for quiet and easy coming and going, the bathrooms were very large and clean, the bar attached is fun and makes for a great meeting place, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hostel is also just a short 5 minute walk from Dam Square, which is the center of the downtown area! Would absolutely stay here again, really the best value! Only downside was that you only get wifi in the common areas.
  • 89%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Katherine USA
  • While I did not enjoy my visit in Amsterdam, the hostel was a nice place to stay. The staff weren't very friendly; however, they did their job and did it well. The rooms were clean although it was very frustrating to find ONE PLUG for a room with ~20 people in it. If you have electronic devices that need charging, I would not recommend staying here. The food at the bar was doable and the alcohol was relatively cheap. Overall a satisfactory hostel.
  • 77%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here as a solo female, felt completely comfortable. Was in a female only dorm which I highly recommend to all solo female travelers just for comfort's sake. Security was good,always have to show your room card before entering the hostel. Staff were so friendly and helpful which made my stay that much better.Very nice bar area,great free breakfast.Easy to meet people but its not a party place,people were more just hanging out. Towels are €4.50.Sheets were fresh but the comforters are not.
  • 89%
  • 08 May 2014 Stephanie Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »