See other Amsterdam properties

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 79% from 21 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Reading all the reviews I was concerned about outlets......not even terrible. First off my room had a power strip, so 4 outlets instead of 1. Also, there was alwasy a spot to charge in the lobby or bar area, so in the end it was no issue at all. Breakfast was pretty standard besides the coffee machine thing which was AHHHmazing. Of course when you sleep in a room of like 10 girls in their twenties it's going to get noisy and betches are going to be uncourteous. GREAT LOCATION!!!!!
  • 74%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good location, good breakfast, good facilities. Staff from the reception is not friendly. Staff from bar is nice. I can recommend this hostel is just to sleep/bath. It's impossible to socialize because you can do anything or you will be reprimanded, i.e. if you speak a little louder.
  • 57%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Ana Portugal
  • great place, great stuff!
  • 94%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Absolutely loved our stay in this hostel! We were given plastic entry keys that allow for quiet and easy coming and going, the bathrooms were very large and clean, the bar attached is fun and makes for a great meeting place, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hostel is also just a short 5 minute walk from Dam Square, which is the center of the downtown area! Would absolutely stay here again, really the best value! Only downside was that you only get wifi in the common areas.
  • 89%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Katherine USA
  • While I did not enjoy my visit in Amsterdam, the hostel was a nice place to stay. The staff weren't very friendly; however, they did their job and did it well. The rooms were clean although it was very frustrating to find ONE PLUG for a room with ~20 people in it. If you have electronic devices that need charging, I would not recommend staying here. The food at the bar was doable and the alcohol was relatively cheap. Overall a satisfactory hostel.
  • 77%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here as a solo female, felt completely comfortable. Was in a female only dorm which I highly recommend to all solo female travelers just for comfort's sake. Security was good,always have to show your room card before entering the hostel. Staff were so friendly and helpful which made my stay that much better.Very nice bar area,great free breakfast.Easy to meet people but its not a party place,people were more just hanging out. Towels are €4.50.Sheets were fresh but the comforters are not.
  • 89%
  • 08 May 2014 Stephanie Canada
  • If you don't mind staying in a room with 20 other people which was my case, a one-night stay is perfect. If prolong in any fashion, you will eventually lack some sleep. You have to take in account that Amsterdam is a good party place. When you are one to go to bed around 12 pm - 1 am because you're exhausted from all the touristic stuff you did during the day, you won't get to sleep before later because all others people are getting ready to head out to party :)
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2014 Shanna Canada
  • Breakfast is a little poor...
  • 80%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • I have stayed at this hostel twice now. Central location, great staff and good breakfast. I recommend this hostel to anyone looking for good accomadations at a reasonable price.
  • 97%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel, not the best, but in a great spot and with helpful staff.
  • 83%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »