See other Madrid properties

Sungate One

Calle de Carmen 16, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 97% from 58 reviews

  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 99%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 99%Location
  • 97%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic experience! The hostel is located right where you want to be, within walking distance to the two most interesting areas of Madrid and very close to two metro stations. The atmosphere in the hostel is extremely friendly, the staff is constantly working to include everyone in the vibe and help people make friends. There's free breakfast and dinner too, that saves you a ton of money.. I'd say it almost pays for the hostel itself. I'd highly recommend staying here. Madrid's best for sure!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2017 Vicente Ignacio Chile
  • I spent 4 days here-I had a great time here- good social activities- Staff were very helpful and nice especially the Nivel, Abdul, Chris and the girl from USA
  • 97%
  • 09 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Had the best time of my life at Sungate One. Definitly will be back sometime!
  • 100%
  • 31 Oct 2016 Jesse Netherlands
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel, and Sungate far exceeded my expectations. The staff was incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. I greatly appreciated the free dinners and social events hosted by the staff. They layout of the hostel made it easy to have a social area while separating the bedrooms to reduce noise (they took quiet hours seriously). Finally, I liked that the beds werent bunk beds and the showers were individual bathrooms.
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2016 Stephanie USA
  • Sungate was awesome! We had a double private room, which was huge with a balcony and a mural!! They cooked us dinner every night and even made a vegetarian option. Hostel also had 1E beers and waters, and took us out to bars at night. Also in a great location. Hostel staff was helpful and friendly, and gave us step-by-step directions on how to get to Toledo via metro & bus.
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2016 Matthew USA
  • This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. The location is terrific and all of Madrid can be accessed from it. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. They do communal dinners, which were excellent. They organize nights out, though some are to very overpriced, touristy locations. Overall, I would stay here because of warm, welcoming atmosphere created by the staff. The rooms are solid and it's nice that they have so many bathrooms.
  • 100%
  • 26 Sep 2016 Seth USA
  • Loved it. It's like coming home)) Will come back!
  • 100%
  • 17 Sep 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff were the most welcoming I've met, and really make you feel at home. They do a homemade dinner every night for all guests, which is the best way to get to know your hostel-mates, and there's always a trip out to a fun local bar afterward. Facilities are cleaned every morning. The beds were nice and comfortable. Bring a lock for your locker. The price is a little higher than some other hostels, but it truly is worth it. Stay here for fun!
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely loved my stay here! The staff was so friendly and helpful! There are also activities every night planned that you can join in on, so it's easy to meet people and makes the experience for anyone traveling alone more enjoyable :) I don't have any compliants about my stay here.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2016 Brittany USA
  • THE spot to stay in Madrid! Staff were fantastic about taking the time to orient me in the city and go over a map of places to see during my stay. Family style dinner every night (free!!) is an awesome way to meet other travelers. Staff lead an crawl out to local bars and clubs each night if that's what you are into. Comfortable environment with WiFi and power outlets by each bed (super important). Have to give huge props to theses guys for letting me ship my luggage to their place!!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »