See other Los Angeles properties

Surf City Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 25.7km

Rating: 78% from 14 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great, beautiful stay; the ocean is a hundred feet away And visible from your window! I do think this place could improve by making the Beds and even replacing some, mine was not very comfortable.
  • 74%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Aaron
  • Surf city hostel is located in front of beach. Nice place y e if you wgant to have fun, meet new people. On the night, we were a little bit disturbed by the noise
  • 80%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Mathieu
  • Thanks for having us!!
  • 86%
  • 31 May 2015 Varenka Mexico
  • I stayed there only a night but I really appriciated the staff' s help. She answered all of my questions sincerely and told me any touring options that I can choose.
  • 77%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Hye In South Korea
  • The host is great! The location perfect, just in front of the beach. The Room very clean and nice. Breakfast is like you are at home, you have everything and you prepare your own breakfast. Next time I travel by myself around the area, I will stay there!
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • City hostel is awesome! Perfect spot right on the beach, staff are nice and very helpful. I'd reccommend this hostel for anyone..
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Andrew Australia
  • "Parking available" my ass.... Literally drove around wasting gas and time (40 min?!?!?) trying to find a spot around 9pm. Frustrated, I called and asked where the parking was. They told me the "Available Parking" was a mile away, so at that point I decided to eat the $30 I had paid and found a hotel instead (had a rolly suitcase and 2 bags and unfamiliar with the area safety). Cost me overall a $120 rather than just the $30. If you're driving, AVOID THIS TRAP!
  • 43%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was great hostel. I'll never forget !
  • 80%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »