See other Los Angeles properties

Surf City Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 25.7km

Rating: 84% from 29 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had occasion to need to stay at Surf City on two separate days when in LA. My only complaint is that there really needs to be oscillating fans installed in the rooms because even with all the windows the breeze at night just doesn't have enough force to cool someone down when they're trying to get to sleep. But check-in and check-out were pretty swift - no complaints although the management mistakenly charged me for a no-show when it was supposed to be someone else, but that got fixed easily.
  • 80%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Probably one of the best locations to get a hostel in LA. But if you value your sleep then you should know that the hostel is located right next to a very loud bar where loud music plays on Thurs, Fri, and Sat. They also upgraded our room to a single free of charge when we arrived which was very nice.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Max USA
  • I absolutely loved Surf City Hostel! Steps away from the beach (literally), with a view of the ocean from the room, and an entrance onto a fantastic little street full of great bars. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and made sure I got into a clean room. If you plan on being here on a weekend and need to go to bed early, it's probably best to bring headphones as it is right on top of a bar. Still, absolutely highly recommended!
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Aaron USA
  • Location of hostel was right on the beach. Very good for beach goers. However it's also right on top of a sometimes noisy bar, so those seeking quiet may be disappointed. Only issue I had was parking. Very hard to come by, especially during busy beach times. Otherwise hostel stay was great.
  • 74%
  • 24 May 2014 Kevin Canada
  • i order room for 4 people , when i came they told me that they didn't hold my reservation and put us in a room with 8 people and if i don't want i can take my money . i think that u , as web site , must cheack places like that , if they can't hold reservations don't promot them on your site
  • 63%
  • 18 May 2014 raffi Israel
  • location is so good, the people there very cool... miss hermosa and the hostel and good peoples that i knew there... the hostel is very safety,... i need to come back there !
  • 94%
  • 15 May 2014 Flavio Luiz Marques Brazil
  • had a good time staying here. perfect location, very comfortable and clean. the staff were very friendly and engaging. awesome find.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed at Surf City Hostel for one-night in early April and really enjoyed it. The location is awesome, right next to the beach. Parking in the town of Hermosa Beach is a challenge. A parking garage a block north of Surf City is convenient, but does not allow parking from 6 am to 8 am so you have to find parking on the street. Surf City is above a bar and the bar's music was pretty loud so this is not the place for light sleepers.
  • 86%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I loved staying here!! I would 100% come back and I definitely recommend it to anyone look for a cheap and semi-comfortable stay and an all around amazing experience.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Great location! If your driving the parking is about 8 to 10 blocks away, well at least the free parking. They do allow alcohol there so keep that in mind. The kitchen is supposed to open at 8 but not really. Its more around 8:15 or so even thou the guy is there and ask about it because you'll get a grrrrr. Not that 15 minutes is a big deal but the guy is right there and your on holiday and have plans for the day, so......
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2014 jordan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »