See other Los Angeles properties

Surf City Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 25.7km

Rating: 80% from 27 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed there only a night but I really appriciated the staff' s help. She answered all of my questions sincerely and told me any touring options that I can choose.
  • 77%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Hye In South Korea
  • The host is great! The location perfect, just in front of the beach. The Room very clean and nice. Breakfast is like you are at home, you have everything and you prepare your own breakfast. Next time I travel by myself around the area, I will stay there!
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • City hostel is awesome! Perfect spot right on the beach, staff are nice and very helpful. I'd reccommend this hostel for anyone..
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Andrew Australia
  • "Parking available" my ass.... Literally drove around wasting gas and time (40 min?!?!?) trying to find a spot around 9pm. Frustrated, I called and asked where the parking was. They told me the "Available Parking" was a mile away, so at that point I decided to eat the $30 I had paid and found a hotel instead (had a rolly suitcase and 2 bags and unfamiliar with the area safety). Cost me overall a $120 rather than just the $30. If you're driving, AVOID THIS TRAP!
  • 43%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was great hostel. I'll never forget !
  • 80%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • An amazing hostel! We felt like home from the first day. The staff is so nice and the french lady who owns the hostel is like a mother figure. The hostel has everything from free bodyboards to beer pong balls. The location right by the ocean is incredible and the night life around the hostel is fun too.
  • 91%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • The hostel location was great. For parking it's about 5min walk but lots of shops to look at. Everyone really nice in the area. Some things I didn't like was the bed not being comfy and could not get wifi up stairs and plug in's didn't work well. If you want a place close to the beach it's nice, but the hostel.. could be better
  • 80%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Clorrica Canada
  • Favorite hostel ever! The atmosphere was amazing, met so many great people, I can't wait to be back!
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Christian USA
  • Really enjoyed my stay at Surf City Hostel. Wish I stayed more than one night. The people were great and top notch area. Very helpful staff. Remember to have cash for your key deposit (get back when you check out) and bring a lock for the lockers.
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Chris USA
  • Had occasion to need to stay at Surf City on two separate days when in LA. My only complaint is that there really needs to be oscillating fans installed in the rooms because even with all the windows the breeze at night just doesn't have enough force to cool someone down when they're trying to get to sleep. But check-in and check-out were pretty swift - no complaints although the management mistakenly charged me for a no-show when it was supposed to be someone else, but that got fixed easily.
  • 80%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »