See other Los Angeles properties

Surf City Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 25.7km

Rating: 84% from 33 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Favorite hostel ever! The atmosphere was amazing, met so many great people, I can't wait to be back!
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Christian USA
  • Really enjoyed my stay at Surf City Hostel. Wish I stayed more than one night. The people were great and top notch area. Very helpful staff. Remember to have cash for your key deposit (get back when you check out) and bring a lock for the lockers.
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Chris USA
  • Had occasion to need to stay at Surf City on two separate days when in LA. My only complaint is that there really needs to be oscillating fans installed in the rooms because even with all the windows the breeze at night just doesn't have enough force to cool someone down when they're trying to get to sleep. But check-in and check-out were pretty swift - no complaints although the management mistakenly charged me for a no-show when it was supposed to be someone else, but that got fixed easily.
  • 80%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is great as the most of hostels that I know. The only thing that I would like to point out is the parking in the back. We left our rented car the whole night and we got a ticket by parking violation since it's not allowed from 5:00 to 7:00 AM. Please put attention on this.
  • 74%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Adrian Mexico
  • Fix the WiFi. We we're living on the third floor and didn't have internet, a bit annoying. Other than that, nothing to complain about
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Oliver Sweden
  • Probably one of the best locations to get a hostel in LA. But if you value your sleep then you should know that the hostel is located right next to a very loud bar where loud music plays on Thurs, Fri, and Sat. They also upgraded our room to a single free of charge when we arrived which was very nice.
  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Max USA
  • I absolutely loved Surf City Hostel! Steps away from the beach (literally), with a view of the ocean from the room, and an entrance onto a fantastic little street full of great bars. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and made sure I got into a clean room. If you plan on being here on a weekend and need to go to bed early, it's probably best to bring headphones as it is right on top of a bar. Still, absolutely highly recommended!
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Aaron USA
  • Location of hostel was right on the beach. Very good for beach goers. However it's also right on top of a sometimes noisy bar, so those seeking quiet may be disappointed. Only issue I had was parking. Very hard to come by, especially during busy beach times. Otherwise hostel stay was great.
  • 74%
  • 24 May 2014 Kevin Canada
  • i order room for 4 people , when i came they told me that they didn't hold my reservation and put us in a room with 8 people and if i don't want i can take my money . i think that u , as web site , must cheack places like that , if they can't hold reservations don't promot them on your site
  • 63%
  • 18 May 2014 raffi Israel
  • location is so good, the people there very cool... miss hermosa and the hostel and good peoples that i knew there... the hostel is very safety,... i need to come back there !
  • 94%
  • 15 May 2014 Flavio Luiz Marques Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »