See other Los Angeles properties

Surf City Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 25.7km

Rating: 85% from 28 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved staying here!! I would 100% come back and I definitely recommend it to anyone look for a cheap and semi-comfortable stay and an all around amazing experience.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Great location! If your driving the parking is about 8 to 10 blocks away, well at least the free parking. They do allow alcohol there so keep that in mind. The kitchen is supposed to open at 8 but not really. Its more around 8:15 or so even thou the guy is there and ask about it because you'll get a grrrrr. Not that 15 minutes is a big deal but the guy is right there and your on holiday and have plans for the day, so......
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2014 jordan USA
  • You can get a for a rental bike for $10, you have an amazing free breakfast (cerials, milk, sliced bread, peanut butter and jam) and you have a really cool staff. The only problem there is would be the upper bed, which is too hard. So take the lower one and you're going to be happy with this Hostel.
  • 91%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Christian Ronald Germany
  • Best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff were all wicked friendly and helpful! The location is truly the best I have ever seen with either a hostel or a hotel. While the rooms are a tad bit outdated, its perfect for the price and the atmosphere. Absolutely recommend this place!!
  • 100%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Thomas USA
  • If you're going to stay at this hotel, make sure you get a bed on a bottom bunk, I unfortunately had a top bunk, and the mattress was like a sheet of paper on the metal frame of the bed, it was the most uncomfortable bed i've ever slept on in my entire life. The staff were pretty good, always helpful and smiling. Breakfast was good. Common areas were decent enough. But would not want to stay there again!
  • 66%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Gareth Wales
  • Propably make the entrace more obvious. Its hard to find it the first time.
  • 80%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Lennart
  • What an amazing place to stay! I felt so comfortable here and really enjoyed my stay. I hope to spend more time here.
  • 100%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Katherine USA
  • is the best option if you are travelling to LOS ANGELES , is not far from the airport , well connected with all the rest of the nice places in LA , safe, right at the beach, great staff, good breakfast , just some rooms are little bit noisy ..
  • 89%
  • 01 Sep 2013 MARCO Italy
  • Very fun, hostess was spectacular.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2013 Duncan USA
  • This hostel is especially appropriate for YOUNG people. A "single woman of a certain age" (over 45) is not likely to feel comfortable using this site - I didn't. In fact I did not stay because of the cool reception received from guests. Staff was delightful - when I asked for a refund, I was told that was not an option but I could have credit for a night another time. That will only happen if I find a friend to travel with.
  • 77%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »