See other Los Angeles properties

Surf City Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 25.7km

Rating: 84% from 34 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • i order room for 4 people , when i came they told me that they didn't hold my reservation and put us in a room with 8 people and if i don't want i can take my money . i think that u , as web site , must cheack places like that , if they can't hold reservations don't promot them on your site
  • 63%
  • 18 May 2014 raffi Israel
  • location is so good, the people there very cool... miss hermosa and the hostel and good peoples that i knew there... the hostel is very safety,... i need to come back there !
  • 94%
  • 15 May 2014 Flavio Luiz Marques Brazil
  • had a good time staying here. perfect location, very comfortable and clean. the staff were very friendly and engaging. awesome find.
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed at Surf City Hostel for one-night in early April and really enjoyed it. The location is awesome, right next to the beach. Parking in the town of Hermosa Beach is a challenge. A parking garage a block north of Surf City is convenient, but does not allow parking from 6 am to 8 am so you have to find parking on the street. Surf City is above a bar and the bar's music was pretty loud so this is not the place for light sleepers.
  • 86%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I loved staying here!! I would 100% come back and I definitely recommend it to anyone look for a cheap and semi-comfortable stay and an all around amazing experience.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Great location! If your driving the parking is about 8 to 10 blocks away, well at least the free parking. They do allow alcohol there so keep that in mind. The kitchen is supposed to open at 8 but not really. Its more around 8:15 or so even thou the guy is there and ask about it because you'll get a grrrrr. Not that 15 minutes is a big deal but the guy is right there and your on holiday and have plans for the day, so......
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2014 jordan USA
  • You can get a for a rental bike for $10, you have an amazing free breakfast (cerials, milk, sliced bread, peanut butter and jam) and you have a really cool staff. The only problem there is would be the upper bed, which is too hard. So take the lower one and you're going to be happy with this Hostel.
  • 91%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Christian Ronald Germany
  • Best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff were all wicked friendly and helpful! The location is truly the best I have ever seen with either a hostel or a hotel. While the rooms are a tad bit outdated, its perfect for the price and the atmosphere. Absolutely recommend this place!!
  • 100%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Thomas USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »