See other London properties

Surprise Backpackers

110 Vauxhall bridge Road, London, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 62% from 36 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • At this hostel are the staff very nice to you, and the location is as promised - very good. BUT! But There are bed burgs. Everybody in my room have had problems with them. I have been biden by them all over my body - horrible! And even though I was very careful with my stof when I arrived at home, I got them now here. It is not easy to remove them, and I have had spent the rest of my holiday on cleaning and after 10 days, I am still trying to remove them. Bed burgs can destroy holidays.
  • 60%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Clara Denmark
  • The staff was very nice, a great place to stay for a night or two, complimentary breakfast was nice, good distance from the city Centre probably a 20 minute walk. All in all it was pretty good.
  • 71%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is in a good location and the free breakfast is great. Unfortunately the bathrooms are very dirty and there are not enough showers or toilets. The rooms were hot and the bunk beds pretty unstable but you get what you pay for. Unfortunately there isn't much atmosphere in the hostel itself but there is a pub downstairs
  • 60%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • The location was close to London city center and close to the metro, that's really good for a weekend trip. The mattresses were disgusting and sometimes there was no power. The room had no kith and from outside the building you could see that some windows were broken. The showers and toilets were disgusting as well, it seemed like nobody ever cleaned them. Horrible experience taking a shower there ! The staff was partly friendly, partly really unfriendly. Wouldn't recommend it at all!
  • 43%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anna Kristin Germany
  • The atmosphere is not much good, but the locations is excellent. You can go until the London Eye and also to Victoria Station by walking.
  • 63%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Isla Ketly Brazil
  • you get what you pay for! Its a cheap hostel and it shows.the beds were gross and moldy, the hostel building in general seemed to have mold everywhere and it was not very clean. The location was a convenient walk to Westminster so i would say that and the price are the obly redeeming qualities.
  • 51%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Hannah USA
  • Those triple decker beds are crazy, they would sway dangerously every time I would try to get to the top. I'm glad I only spent a night here. Breakfast was average, toast, tea and coffee.
  • 57%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • poor wifi and not clean environment, but nice staff
  • 49%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I saw some mouses in the kitchen.
  • 54%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • The location was awesome; we were about a 15-minute walk from the Parliament buildings, and it felt safe to walk around near the hostel at night. The kitchen was well-stocked, but far too small for the size of the hostel and the number of people who wanted to use it. Also, my friend got bedbugs during our stay, and while we were moved to another room, someone else was placed in the infected bed just a day later.
  • 63%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »