See other London properties

Surprise Backpackers

110 Vauxhall bridge Road, London, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 62% from 31 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 69%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was close to London city center and close to the metro, that's really good for a weekend trip. The mattresses were disgusting and sometimes there was no power. The room had no kith and from outside the building you could see that some windows were broken. The showers and toilets were disgusting as well, it seemed like nobody ever cleaned them. Horrible experience taking a shower there ! The staff was partly friendly, partly really unfriendly. Wouldn't recommend it at all!
  • 43%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anna Kristin Germany
  • The atmosphere is not much good, but the locations is excellent. You can go until the London Eye and also to Victoria Station by walking.
  • 63%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Isla Ketly Brazil
  • you get what you pay for! Its a cheap hostel and it shows.the beds were gross and moldy, the hostel building in general seemed to have mold everywhere and it was not very clean. The location was a convenient walk to Westminster so i would say that and the price are the obly redeeming qualities.
  • 51%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Hannah USA
  • Those triple decker beds are crazy, they would sway dangerously every time I would try to get to the top. I'm glad I only spent a night here. Breakfast was average, toast, tea and coffee.
  • 57%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • poor wifi and not clean environment, but nice staff
  • 49%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I saw some mouses in the kitchen.
  • 54%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • The location was awesome; we were about a 15-minute walk from the Parliament buildings, and it felt safe to walk around near the hostel at night. The kitchen was well-stocked, but far too small for the size of the hostel and the number of people who wanted to use it. Also, my friend got bedbugs during our stay, and while we were moved to another room, someone else was placed in the infected bed just a day later.
  • 63%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Pro : cheap, free breakfast, wifi (albeit poor reception in the bedrooms) Con : quite dirty despite cleaning lady (nice lady, not her fault!) coming through once a day, everything is quite a bit dilapidated (well it's cheap after all) with plaster coming off from the walls for example, very bad beds (worst ever).
  • 54%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • My favourite hostel in London so far.
  • 94%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Giuseppe Italy
  • The Hostel was very bad for me! After 3 nights there I was ill. It will so cold, durty and old! I could not close the window, and also there was no heating! There was no hot shower, and the WC and bathroom were totaly unclean and in bad state! But the price and location are excellent, also the personal was very kind!
  • 71%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous Bulgaria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »