See other London properties

Surprise Backpackers

110 Vauxhall bridge Road, London, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 68% from 23 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 59%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I saw some mouses in the kitchen.
  • 54%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • The location was awesome; we were about a 15-minute walk from the Parliament buildings, and it felt safe to walk around near the hostel at night. The kitchen was well-stocked, but far too small for the size of the hostel and the number of people who wanted to use it. Also, my friend got bedbugs during our stay, and while we were moved to another room, someone else was placed in the infected bed just a day later.
  • 63%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Pro : cheap, free breakfast, wifi (albeit poor reception in the bedrooms) Con : quite dirty despite cleaning lady (nice lady, not her fault!) coming through once a day, everything is quite a bit dilapidated (well it's cheap after all) with plaster coming off from the walls for example, very bad beds (worst ever).
  • 54%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • My favourite hostel in London so far.
  • 94%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Giuseppe Italy
  • The Hostel was very bad for me! After 3 nights there I was ill. It will so cold, durty and old! I could not close the window, and also there was no heating! There was no hot shower, and the WC and bathroom were totaly unclean and in bad state! But the price and location are excellent, also the personal was very kind!
  • 71%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • The hostel's location was quite good, close to Victoria's station and you can walk to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament,... The rooms were ok, but I missed a table or seats to put some staff and to stay and relax in the room for a while. If you sleep in the third floor of a bunk bed, you don't feel like always climbing up :) The breakfast was included and ok (milk, tea, coffee, toast, jam, cornflakes), no luxury but enough to start the day.
  • 66%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Teresa Germany
  • If you want an ideal holiday place to stay look elsewhere. My girlfriend and I only chose this place as it was cheap and we needed a room for the night before flying onwards. Kinda cute how narrow the stairs were but a pain to carry luggage up three stories. They provided us with breakfast which was great. Rooms were average. But again no big deal as we were arrived late night and left early morning. Definitely what I imagined when I thought of cheap English backpackers :)
  • 49%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Levi New Zealand
  • the location was perfect but the hostel itself was very dirty and i would have preferet if the beds had curtains for some privacy
  • 66%
  • 01 Aug 2013 Otto Finland
  • This hostel was kind of dirty and the beds are ridiculously old, creeky, and breaking. It's a mixed hostel and the staff put a much older man in with three females which was very awkward. The staff are running a bar so are rarely at the front desk and they are rarely helpful. The location is pretty good being close to a train station and small shops. That being said, I would not stay at this hostel again or recommend it to others.
  • 57%
  • 28 May 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • A nice hostel in the centre of London, great connection to the subway within 10 minutes walking to Viktoria Station. Two supermarkets are in a few minutes reach. The staff was lovely and the rooms as well as the facilities were mostly clean. A good place to stay for a few nights!! :)
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2013 Nora Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »