See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 82% from 56 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location .. Would definitely recommend to friends.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I can't understand why this hostel is so highly recommended. The room was mit very clean and especially the bathroom was disgusting: dust and dirt in every corner and mold in the shower. The cleaning lady was obviously only responsible for the toilett and the trash. The staff mixed up our booking so that we had to sleep in seperate rooms. Breakfast is basic. i have been in a lot of hostels but this one was rather poor. The atmosphere was good though.
  • 63%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Sophie Germany
  • Excellent location. Each room came with its own attached bath. That was nice. It was clean enough. Rooms had lockers for each person. Hostel was run by young folks. Nice get-together area on the terrace.
  • 77%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Gokul India
  • It is such a nice place to stay. As a guest your so welcome everytime you have a question about hikes, food, restaurants,... just everything! We loved our stay at this awesome hostel.
  • 94%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Marcus Germany
  • The location of the hostel is very good, but I stayed 1 week at this hostel and I never saw anyone cleaning anything. I had a 1 1/2 foot tall bright green mushroom growing from the bathroom cabinet, the floor was full of sand, shower was very dirty with molds and old shampoo on the walls. kitchen was very dirty as well, with old food in fridge and on counter, fruit flies everywhere. I traveled around the world and this is the worst hostel I ever stayed in. I would never recommend this hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Aloha First of all, we are very sorry about your experience. We do have daily cleaning service for all guest rooms. Due to high demand, we had to change the employee room to guest room in Dec and, it was transition period when you stayed with us. We just renovated the bathroom for the room you stayed, deep cleaning and open for guests room with same condition of other guest room. Again, We are very sorry for the inconvenience, hope that we can accommodate you again in the future. Mahalo.

  • 49%
  • 07 Dec 2014 Valerie Canada
  • I really enjoyed staying there. Good staffs, good facility, good atmosphere... very friendly! It is a pity...just cleaning room part was not so great. Hope they will improve that part. Well overall was good! I would like to suggest this hostel to friends, and would like to use for my future vacation. THX!
  • 80%
  • 07 Dec 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • good overall! the room felt just a bit cold though
  • 77%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Daniel Spain
  • This is the greatest place to stay. Stuff was really friendly, helpful. We went together to many hikes and to the most beautiful secret beaches. We had barbeque and pizza nights for free :-) and went out every night to have party. I was here for 2months and after my first week i decided to stay here for the whole time. Rooms are clean and nice, with own shower, but what i really loved is the terrace upstairs, we had so many good nights there, sometimes guys played on gitar and sang :-)
  • 100%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • This place overall was excellent! The location, staff, and atmosphere wants me to go back again.
  • 91%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Ryan
  • You won't find a better hostel!!!! This os absolutely the best place to stay in Waikiki!!!! :) :) :) :)
  • 100%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Lindsay Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »