See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 84% from 43 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed for three nights. Free BBQ nights, clean and large top floor patio area and super friendly and helpfull staff made my stay more awesome than expected! Definitely recommend staying if you are a budget conscious traveller like me.
  • 97%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The Hostel is okay, the atmosphere nice! The bathroom wasn't clean! The small kitchen with the big refrigeratoris a very nice advantage!
  • 66%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Fabian Germany
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Clean, friendly, convenient parking, perfect location, great extras to use and lend. Room and bed were comfortable, cute sitting area outside of room, amazing upper deck. Would stay again everytime we went to Hawaii.
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Christina USA
  • I enjoyed my stay very much. Thanks
  • 86%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Elia USA
  • I had an excellent experience at this hostel. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. It has a very social atmosphere and perks like free pizza nights, etc. As far as hostels go, it is one of the cleanest that I have stayed in. The location is perfect, you are minutes from the beach and at the end of Waikiki so to speak, so you have the beach on one side and a huge park on the other. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others and will stay here again when I return. Mahalo!
  • 94%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Caitlin Canada
  • Love the staff especially the manager. So sweet and patient. The only prob was the 2pm check in so if I booked another day, different reservation, I would have to bring all my stuff at 11am down to front desk and pray that my laptop wouldn't get snagged cuz the lil lockers in room are too small and no lockers at front desk. Otherwise I love the wooden bunk beds. Less noisy than the metal one that creak with every move.
  • 97%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Leiana USA
  • Jose at the front desk was very helpful. He helped me get a good deal on the island tour. They also organize free bbqs from time to time. I found the food to be quite good. Overall I found the hostel to be quite decent. I'd definitely recommend it.
  • 80%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous India
  • Great location .. Would definitely recommend to friends.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I can't understand why this hostel is so highly recommended. The room was mit very clean and especially the bathroom was disgusting: dust and dirt in every corner and mold in the shower. The cleaning lady was obviously only responsible for the toilett and the trash. The staff mixed up our booking so that we had to sleep in seperate rooms. Breakfast is basic. i have been in a lot of hostels but this one was rather poor. The atmosphere was good though.
  • 63%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Sophie Germany
  • Excellent location. Each room came with its own attached bath. That was nice. It was clean enough. Rooms had lockers for each person. Hostel was run by young folks. Nice get-together area on the terrace.
  • 77%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Gokul India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »