See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 81% from 59 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Free beer or pizza nights on rooftop terrace surely help to find new friends. Good location, reasonable price but pretty small rooms. No idea why the bus directions says go to Lemon Rd when the hostel is just one block from Kuhio Ave on Cartwright Rd (i.e. first left).
  • 74%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Excellent accomodation in good location. Would stay here again! Unfortunately not flexible with check-out time, but provides luggage storage and shower also after check-out.
  • 86%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Frank Sweden
  • Excellent hostel. It's a shame more people don't use the common area. It would help if it was open 24 hours.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Omar Pakistan
  • There were quite a few appliances which is nice if people stay more than a couple nights and are cooking their own food etc. The rooms were too hot too sleep. The shower was a cesspool in room 11. Bunk beds although a space saver are a terrible option, however, if done right they can succeed.
  • 60%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Drew USA
  • Waikiki Backpackers Hostel is a lot better than most of the reviews I read before staying there. It seems a little old and dingy but that's just because it is an old building. The pub crawl is fun as are the free beer night, and free pizza night but they are the only activities they do. It is literally right across the road from the Zoo and the beach and walking distance to Diamond Head. The location is the very best thing about this hostel. And there were absolutely no bed bugs whatsoever.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Good hostel just across the beach. Jay is Awsome!
  • 83%
  • 15 May 2014 Cristian Canada
  • A lot of activities as beer and pizza night. The kitchen facilities was very bad because it was in the only common area, which was a very little room. 5 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the grocery store.
  • 54%
  • 10 May 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
  • I would really recommend this hostel. My friend and I have stayed at hostels before but this was the best one so far! We stayed here for a week and we loved it! We had a fridge, microwave and stove in our 4 fem. dorm. Security is great, lockers in the room that will hold valuables or a smaller backpack, bring your own padlock. Great location, 2 blocks from the beach, close to bus stops. Staff is awesome here, very friendly and helpful! Place is clean! Toast, yogurt, coffee/tea for breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Evelina Sweden
  • This hostel has an amazing location near the beach, the zoo and all the hotels and nightlife of Waikiki. It has great bus access to get everywhere else, as well. They have fun community events during the week and the staff are really nice.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent hostel in excellent location, super friendly and helpful staff!
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Tom Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »