See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 82% from 63 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A lot of activities as beer and pizza night. The kitchen facilities was very bad because it was in the only common area, which was a very little room. 5 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the grocery store.
  • 54%
  • 10 May 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
  • I would really recommend this hostel. My friend and I have stayed at hostels before but this was the best one so far! We stayed here for a week and we loved it! We had a fridge, microwave and stove in our 4 fem. dorm. Security is great, lockers in the room that will hold valuables or a smaller backpack, bring your own padlock. Great location, 2 blocks from the beach, close to bus stops. Staff is awesome here, very friendly and helpful! Place is clean! Toast, yogurt, coffee/tea for breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Evelina Sweden
  • This hostel has an amazing location near the beach, the zoo and all the hotels and nightlife of Waikiki. It has great bus access to get everywhere else, as well. They have fun community events during the week and the staff are really nice.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent hostel in excellent location, super friendly and helpful staff!
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Tom Australia
  • Great experience, thank you!
  • 100%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Anonymous Panama
  • This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at! I really loved the staff's warm welcome, attentive to questions and concerns during my stay, AND they were all really great people to party with when they we done with their shift. :) The free transportation from the Airport was so convenient, Free Breakfast, Beer Nights and Pizza was a great way to meet other hostellers. I was also really pleasantly surprised at the great balance of older -late 20s early 30s and the usual young ones. WBH IS AWESOME!
  • 100%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Their rooms were clean and quiet with good facilities. And I was lucky to stay in a room with strong wifi signal.
  • 94%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • This was my first time to stay in a hostel and I look forward to repeat the experience. I was surprised how safe, clean and fun at this hostel. the staff were laid back but very attentive to our needs. The room I have was clean with a regular refrigerator and a small kitchen area. The room have small lockers to place any "valuables" however make sure you brought your own combo lock. It was such a relief to also have neat and friendly roommates. It made my stay enjoyable.
  • 83%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Melissa USA
  • I loved my experience there! The staff was super nice (which is really 90% of the hostel experience for me) The place was clean and the beds were comfortable. Unbelievable value for Waikiki. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area.
  • 94%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place. Nice staff, specially Yanna. She is an angel. Sim.
  • 71%
  • 14 Feb 2014 SIMON Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »