See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 82% from 60 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at! I really loved the staff's warm welcome, attentive to questions and concerns during my stay, AND they were all really great people to party with when they we done with their shift. :) The free transportation from the Airport was so convenient, Free Breakfast, Beer Nights and Pizza was a great way to meet other hostellers. I was also really pleasantly surprised at the great balance of older -late 20s early 30s and the usual young ones. WBH IS AWESOME!
  • 100%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Their rooms were clean and quiet with good facilities. And I was lucky to stay in a room with strong wifi signal.
  • 94%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • This was my first time to stay in a hostel and I look forward to repeat the experience. I was surprised how safe, clean and fun at this hostel. the staff were laid back but very attentive to our needs. The room I have was clean with a regular refrigerator and a small kitchen area. The room have small lockers to place any "valuables" however make sure you brought your own combo lock. It was such a relief to also have neat and friendly roommates. It made my stay enjoyable.
  • 83%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Melissa USA
  • I loved my experience there! The staff was super nice (which is really 90% of the hostel experience for me) The place was clean and the beds were comfortable. Unbelievable value for Waikiki. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area.
  • 94%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place. Nice staff, specially Yanna. She is an angel. Sim.
  • 71%
  • 14 Feb 2014 SIMON Canada
  • The location was really good for the price. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms and you need to go out and in front of the office in order to use it. There were always a lot of people gathered out there. The shower was broken and took them an entire day to fix it and during that tone we had to use another rooms shower which was a bit of a pain for us and for the people in the room. The price though was good for the location bit the insane tax in Hawaii made the overall price more than what's said
  • 66%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • PROS: Great location / Affordable CONS: Lockers in rooms are busted, Air Conditioning does NOT work. There is hardly any common area to hang-out / it is also the breakfast area which is super tiny. I'd check out another hostel instead if I'm ever back in Waikiki.....
  • 57%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Biggest issues were that the mattress springs were digging into my ribs, there was no water pressure in the shower, and the room was always much more humid (and odorous) than outside. Be sure to bring a lock for your locker (you can fit a full backpack inside). You have a stove, microwave, refridgerator, but no plates/cups/mugs/cutlery. Toilet paper is provided, but that is all. It seems that someone cleans it daily as the trash is taken out, but it doesn't seem to be thorough.
  • 69%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay. Our 4 bed dorm was really large and had a private bathroom. One thing I wish was better was the breakfast. As vegans the only thing to eat was toast with jam as the butter and yogurt are dairy. More non-dairy breakfast options, please!
  • 77%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Okay, it's a hostel, and it's cheap. But don't go there. We came into the room and we're able to smell mold and high humidity. The air conditioner was covered all over with black mold, really disgusting. The bathroom and it's walls and the ceiling were covered all over with mold, some painting anywhere to cover it. The grossest thing: legs of cockroaches. The staff consists of barely adults, one was cursing all the time--really professional. Parking for a night $10. Take another location,please
  • 40%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Andreas Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »