See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 82% from 60 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We really enjoyed our stay. Our 4 bed dorm was really large and had a private bathroom. One thing I wish was better was the breakfast. As vegans the only thing to eat was toast with jam as the butter and yogurt are dairy. More non-dairy breakfast options, please!
  • 77%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Okay, it's a hostel, and it's cheap. But don't go there. We came into the room and we're able to smell mold and high humidity. The air conditioner was covered all over with black mold, really disgusting. The bathroom and it's walls and the ceiling were covered all over with mold, some painting anywhere to cover it. The grossest thing: legs of cockroaches. The staff consists of barely adults, one was cursing all the time--really professional. Parking for a night $10. Take another location,please
  • 40%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Andreas Germany
  • Aaah... What an experience of a lifetime at the Waikiki Backpackers Hostel! Here's the Short Version: -No flexibility -FLOODED ROOM -Didn't even get clean sheets for wet bed with floor water all over it. -No compensation for ruined stuff (electronics, camera, books, cards, clothing) -Lazy manager who didn't bother showing up when room was flooded -5 day wait to get a partial refund -Rude and lazy receptionist I would say more but this thing only let a certain amount of characters!
  • 34%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Rosie USA
  • I have nothing but GREAT things to say about Waikiki Backpackers Hostel. I've been to many hostels around the world and this one is definitely one of my favorites. The environment is fun, positive, and clean. The rooms come with a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. The location is a couple blocks from Waikiki. It was easy to meet people and become friends. There's no other hostel is Oahu that will give you a better experience.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Humberto USA
  • Great place to meet a ton of people from all over the world!
  • 91%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Walterschmid USA
  • Staff at this location were not extremely helpful or friendly and when making requests treated guests as an inconvenience. There also isn't a lot of room to meet with each other.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Erin USA
  • It was cleen, quiet, and affordable. Bolaji the driver picked me up at airport. I also stayed at the Polynesian but I preferred the smaller more personal environment at the wikikiki. Take the tour to north shore. It is worth it. Christmas ham was awesome.
  • 97%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Cheap, reasonably clean and has A/C in the rooms, which is nice. Facilities are very basic, with a lack of workable common space to meet and mingle with fellow travelers. Breakfast provided is toast and yogurt. You can't beat the location - two blocks from the beach. All things considered I'd definitely stay here again.
  • 77%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Craig USA
  • This hostel was an awesome place to stay! All of the staff go above and beyond to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The atmosphere is great, I meet so many cool people that were traveling and always wanting to go hiking, snorkeling , or drinking. Each room has its own bathroom, shower, and kitchenette. I will definitely recommend this hostel to friends the are planning to stay in waikiki. At around 35 dollars a night it can't be beat.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2013 Jake USA
  • Excelent place. The staff was friendly and helped us find some nices places to visit. The other guests in the hostel were also very friendly and we went out together a few times. The place was clean and very well located, 2 blocks from the beach.
  • 89%
  • 04 Dec 2013 GABRIEL Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »