See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 80% from 55 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Aaah... What an experience of a lifetime at the Waikiki Backpackers Hostel! Here's the Short Version: -No flexibility -FLOODED ROOM -Didn't even get clean sheets for wet bed with floor water all over it. -No compensation for ruined stuff (electronics, camera, books, cards, clothing) -Lazy manager who didn't bother showing up when room was flooded -5 day wait to get a partial refund -Rude and lazy receptionist I would say more but this thing only let a certain amount of characters!
  • 34%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Rosie USA
  • I have nothing but GREAT things to say about Waikiki Backpackers Hostel. I've been to many hostels around the world and this one is definitely one of my favorites. The environment is fun, positive, and clean. The rooms come with a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. The location is a couple blocks from Waikiki. It was easy to meet people and become friends. There's no other hostel is Oahu that will give you a better experience.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Humberto USA
  • Great place to meet a ton of people from all over the world!
  • 91%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Walterschmid USA
  • Staff at this location were not extremely helpful or friendly and when making requests treated guests as an inconvenience. There also isn't a lot of room to meet with each other.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Erin USA
  • It was cleen, quiet, and affordable. Bolaji the driver picked me up at airport. I also stayed at the Polynesian but I preferred the smaller more personal environment at the wikikiki. Take the tour to north shore. It is worth it. Christmas ham was awesome.
  • 97%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Cheap, reasonably clean and has A/C in the rooms, which is nice. Facilities are very basic, with a lack of workable common space to meet and mingle with fellow travelers. Breakfast provided is toast and yogurt. You can't beat the location - two blocks from the beach. All things considered I'd definitely stay here again.
  • 77%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Craig USA
  • This hostel was an awesome place to stay! All of the staff go above and beyond to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The atmosphere is great, I meet so many cool people that were traveling and always wanting to go hiking, snorkeling , or drinking. Each room has its own bathroom, shower, and kitchenette. I will definitely recommend this hostel to friends the are planning to stay in waikiki. At around 35 dollars a night it can't be beat.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2013 Jake USA
  • Excelent place. The staff was friendly and helped us find some nices places to visit. The other guests in the hostel were also very friendly and we went out together a few times. The place was clean and very well located, 2 blocks from the beach.
  • 89%
  • 04 Dec 2013 GABRIEL Brazil
  • Safe area even though there is no security and most of the time the office is closed. It is a quiet location, but close enough to everything you would want in Waikiki. The staff was nice, but like I said their door was rarely open. Extremely clean with people mopping and cleaning every room every day. Each room also has a full size refrigerator and a small kitchen. Even though bugs are everywhere in Hawaii, I didn't see any pests in the room. A little more expensive than other hostels, but worth
  • 86%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Anonymous
  • I booked the hostle but I failed to look at all the reqiurements, I was denied entrance and told go to another hostle because I was over 45 anos. I was also ripped off for the 2 days I prepaid(my bank account does not show a refund yet), I would not send anyone to place that discrimates on age if your over 60 mand still hiking and able to enjoy. I would rate this place - 5 stars.
  • 20%
  • 23 Nov 2013 James USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »