See other Honolulu properties

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 82% from 62 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to meet a ton of people from all over the world!
  • 91%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Walterschmid USA
  • Staff at this location were not extremely helpful or friendly and when making requests treated guests as an inconvenience. There also isn't a lot of room to meet with each other.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Erin USA
  • It was cleen, quiet, and affordable. Bolaji the driver picked me up at airport. I also stayed at the Polynesian but I preferred the smaller more personal environment at the wikikiki. Take the tour to north shore. It is worth it. Christmas ham was awesome.
  • 97%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Cheap, reasonably clean and has A/C in the rooms, which is nice. Facilities are very basic, with a lack of workable common space to meet and mingle with fellow travelers. Breakfast provided is toast and yogurt. You can't beat the location - two blocks from the beach. All things considered I'd definitely stay here again.
  • 77%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Craig USA
  • This hostel was an awesome place to stay! All of the staff go above and beyond to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The atmosphere is great, I meet so many cool people that were traveling and always wanting to go hiking, snorkeling , or drinking. Each room has its own bathroom, shower, and kitchenette. I will definitely recommend this hostel to friends the are planning to stay in waikiki. At around 35 dollars a night it can't be beat.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2013 Jake USA
  • Excelent place. The staff was friendly and helped us find some nices places to visit. The other guests in the hostel were also very friendly and we went out together a few times. The place was clean and very well located, 2 blocks from the beach.
  • 89%
  • 04 Dec 2013 GABRIEL Brazil
  • Safe area even though there is no security and most of the time the office is closed. It is a quiet location, but close enough to everything you would want in Waikiki. The staff was nice, but like I said their door was rarely open. Extremely clean with people mopping and cleaning every room every day. Each room also has a full size refrigerator and a small kitchen. Even though bugs are everywhere in Hawaii, I didn't see any pests in the room. A little more expensive than other hostels, but worth
  • 86%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Anonymous
  • Very friendly and helpful staff. Thanks to Sean and the other staff. I had a pleasant stay in the Waikiki Backpackers Hostel.
  • 80%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Rebekka Switzerland
  • Had a great experience. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean. No complaints
  • 91%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Reginald USA
  • Had a Great time in this hostel, it's not that big but you meet a lot of fun people in the common room.
  • 86%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Melvin Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »