See other Nelson properties

Tasman Bay Backpackers

10 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 91% from 15 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. Although, the hostel has very thin walls so you can hear a lot from the room next door and unfortunately we had our room next to the lounge area. Very nice that they offer free breakfast (toast, cereal, tea/coffee) and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook. The hostel has a cat that lives there and wonders about in the common areas, but to us that was alright. The wifi is bad in the eve when many people use it, but fine during the day.
  • 80%
  • 28 Aug 2015 amanda Sweden
  • It was a fantastic place - couldn't ask for better. Thank you so much!
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Sandra New Zealand
  • Stayed here for 1 night, wish we could have stayed longer! Very pleasant and friendly atmosphere. Bunk bedrooms were spacious and clean. However one of the showers tended to get flooded.
  • 97%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Rebecca Hui Min Singapore
  • Loved the hostel because it was so well run & clean. The location is excellent, near the centre of Nelson, but off the main roads so that it is quiet. The staff were very friendly & helpful.
  • 97%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely place to stay. Staff were very pleasant from when they picked me up from the bus to when I left I felt very welcomed. Wifi was good, social areas were spacious and it's just a short walk to the bay. The room was maybe a little cramped and maybe a limited number of showers, but who cares, they give you free chocolate cake and ice cream. I would stay in a medium sized hole in the ground if it came with free chocolate cake.
  • 86%
  • 03 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • I had a really nice time at Tasman Bay Backpackers. I like that its not that big. Its easy to get in touch with people, the staff is nice and friendly. Free bike hire and towels. Clean. God kitchen fascilities and nice sofas:) I felt safe when i was there. And i enjoyed eating chocolate pudding every night with the others. I would recommend it to anybody:)
  • 74%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Karen Emilie Denmark
  • One of the best hostels we experienced on our trip. Our doubleroom was spacious and clean - it felt like staying at hotel rather than a hostel. Nice outside area for hanging out and socialising.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Jeppe Denmark
  • Fantastic and friendly staff, great facilities and perfect location. As someone said - it's the small things that make the difference at a backpackers. This place has all the small things. eg unlimited Wifi
  • 100%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Campbell New Zealand
  • Everything was good!! Thank you!! But if you repair your bicycles, it will make your accommodation perfect!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • I loved the 4 bed accommodation and the fact that the wooden bunk was firmly attached to the wall so no creaking or groaning. Breakfast and chocolate pudding included in the cost a definite bonus. The best hostel I have used in Nelson :-)
  • 97%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Claire England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »