See other Cape Town properties

The Backpack

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 94% from 11 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good hostel overall with a nice location and friendly atmosphere. Wifi connection was constantly having issues which made it unreliable.
  • 89%
  • 15 Nov 2015 Simon England
  • great staff: really helpfull, gave us ideas on how to make the most of each day the breakfast was amazing!!
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2015 Justine France
  • Wonderful, roomy hostel 5 minutes from Long Street. Enormous free breakfast buffet added recently. Quiet and classy with a great friendly staff. Highly recommended
  • 100%
  • 15 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was in a group of 8; we all loved the atmosphere that the Backpacker had. The staff where very friendly and efficient. The rooms where very clean and presentable. I would stay here again. Infact we stayed the week after as well! and this was our first experience of a hostel.
  • 86%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • Wonderful hostel, very helpful staff.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Madeleine Sweden
  • A great hostel! Nice place to meet new people, it´s very organized and the staff is always helpful.The rooms are really confie as well. Only problem was that the rooms didn´t have air conditioner or fans, and sometimes in summer it can get really hot. But it was a great experience!
  • 94%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Ana Paula Brazil
  • Was a perfect place for my first days in Cape Town, and in whole South Africa actually. If i had the money i would have stayed there as my long term accommodation, as you can really feel home, and quickly ! :) Didn't get to do the tours, but heard they were good. Keep going !
  • 86%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Valérie France
  • Staff is extremely friendly and you feel very safe.
  • 100%
  • 11 Jan 2015 suttle USA
  • The experience I had at The Backpack was extraordinary. Unbelievably helpful staff (huge thank you to Jade, Melanie and Thomas), super well-maintained and chic decor, welcoming vibe and genuinely down-to-earth atmosphere. Great mix of guest there too; quiet when you need it but lively engaging center space for having plenty of fun too. No one wants to leave--many of us just keep extending our stay :) I will for sure encourage it to anyone going to Cape Town as a must stay!
  • 100%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »