See other Cape Town properties

The Backpack

74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 93% from 10 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My only complaint would be the Internet facilities which were very slow. The rest was excellent.
  • 89%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Africa
  • Shops and restaurants are close by, the centre and the waterfront not. But you need a car, taxi or bus anyway to get around in capetown. Great place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 16 Feb 2014 Julia Germany
  • What a great hostel! Every night seemed like a party. Open bar, dining and lounge area to meet and to make friends. The staff is absolutely AMAZING!!! The housekeepers are always at work to ensure a clean environment. The kitchen staff make the BEST spinach & feta omelets and fruit in a glass (and even served me birthday cake for my birthday...thanks Portia!) The receptionists are not only pretty but extremely helpful. I woud definitely stay again. And congrats on your recent award!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Marcus USA
  • Beautiful hostel, great atmosphere and the staff were incredibly helpful.
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2013 sarah Australia
  • Reasonably priced ,opportunity to meet other travelers and share food in the common kitchen. For us as an older couple it was fun to meet and talk with young people.
  • 89%
  • 14 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I definitely think that there should be more than one outlet in each room. Having the outlet on the other side of the rooom made charging my phone and valuable electronics hard. Also, Internet could be expanded to common areas like the kitchen and the lounge rooms. Otherwise, the staff was really kind and there was definitely a nice hostel culture. I think hostel wide events where travelers traveling on their own can meet others would make the experience even better than it was!
  • 94%
  • 28 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This is a really well set up and well run hostel. It is huge but doesn't feel like it. F ROM the owner on down to the staff everyone was very friendly and happy to help in any way needed. If this place has one draw back it might be the small kitchen. It can get a bit cramped in there if there are several people cooking at once. This is one of the best places we have stayed on this trip.
  • 97%
  • 18 Jun 2013 scott USA
  • Was on a small side street that I had trouble finding walking back in the dark, which you don't really want to do if you're a woman traveling by yourself. The bathrooms were clean, but kind of old which made them feel less clean... Half the cabinet locks were busted in my room. The people were nice, though, and they had a nice common area where you could chill out with other travelers.
  • 77%
  • 26 May 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »