See other Amsterdam properties

The Bulldog

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 82% from 13 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Bulldog is a better than average hostel, it's clean and safe, but I think it's significantly overpriced for what you get. We booked a three person room with ensuit bathroom. The room was tiny. So tiny that one of the beds was folded into a cabinet because when it was down there was no room to walk between beds. If you're traveling with people you will get more bang for your buck in a budget chain hotel than in The Bulldog.
  • 69%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Molenar USA
  • The hostel was supouse to be very good and fun, but it turned to be boy what we expected! The black short hair lady at the reception (I do not remember her name) was very mean, unpolite and unpacient. I did not like at all the facilities.
  • 46%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Pretty good hostel and price for a city like Amsterdam! Sometimes the room could use a good cleaning, but other than that, it was a pleasant experience and I would recommend it to any other traveler!
  • 77%
  • 11 May 2014 Emily USA
  • Such an awesome hostel, love the late hours for the lounge. Well located, well priced. Food was on point, loved the nachos.
  • 94%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice place :) but a little expensive
  • 86%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Hugo Andres Colombia
  • This place was awesome. Not too expensive and you get a great hotel in the middle of the town centre. Staff was friendly, room was clean and nicely decorated and the bar was just great. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. I went there with my girlfriend but the place would alsof BR great to visit with a group of friends.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • My first time staying in a Hostel and I absolutely LOVED the experience. Everyone at the Bulldog are super friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were clean and location is perfect! Will definitely stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Bobby New Zealand
  • Great night in Bull dog hotel.clean room and good security
  • 83%
  • 07 Aug 2013 GIANA France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »