See other Reykjavik properties

The Capital-Inn

Sudurhlid 35d, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 3.9km

Rating: 62% from 10 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 44%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I slept in the dorms – the beds were horrible, there weren't any soap in the bathroom in any of the days of my stay and the staff seemed quite unflexible.
  • 43%
  • 25 Aug 2016 Tobias Denmark
  • SCAM ALERT! SCAM ALERT!! SCAM ALERT!!! THIS IS NOT A HOSTEL! THIS IS A NIGHTCLUB! DO NOT STAY HERE! IT IS NOT SAFE FOR FEMALE TRAVELERS! THE COOKING WHO WORKS THERE IS SUPER CREEPY AND A PERVERT! I WANTED A REFUND ON THE NIGHTS IT TURNED INTO A NIGHTCLUB BECAUSE I COULDNT GET ANY SLEEP AND THE HORRIBLE MANAGER REFUSED TO GIVE ME A REFUND! THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE! WORST PLACE I EVER STAYED AT! DONT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID AND STAY HERE!
  • 20%
  • 18 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was very friendly. This was my first hostel so I didn't realize that it doesn't matter what time you give an arrival expectation, you still have to wait for check-in time. I was severely jet-lagged, but the older gentleman still wanted to make sure I was comfortable, and the younger man that worked later helped me by calling the Flybus to come back and take me to the airport. This hostel was to only help me get through an 18 hour layover, but I appreciated the space to have a good nap!
  • 57%
  • 09 Aug 2016 Shannon USA
  • I stayed in a 16 bedroom and I had a great experience. The hotel was very good, very clean and the staff was very helpful. It’s a little bit far from the center of Reykjavik but I rented a car so for me the distance wasn´t a problem. The reception is opened 24/7 and the costume service was very good.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jul 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • For the one night, I couldn't take a shower due to over-heated water.
  • 51%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I went to take a shower and initially the water was scalding hot and could not be adjusted. After a staff member adjusted the temperature, I realized that the water was pooling in the bottom of the shower. I was disgusted and got out of the shower as quickly as I could. The facilities were not clean and I felt dirtier after taking a shower than I did before.
  • 46%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Holly USA
  • Pros: Staff were extremely helpful and nice. They were knowledgeable, and really tried to make us feel welcome. Towel rental was cheap. Blankets were really nice. Cons: Flimsy bunk beds that shook every time either person moved, dorm rooms felt exposed, common areas didn't feel homey, no door on the bathrooms, kitchen was hard to find things and not well supplied with utensils.
  • 71%
  • 02 Mar 2016 Daniel W USA
  • Perfect, clean, modern, the facilities were excellent, and the staff made me feel like home. Total value for money.
  • 89%
  • 08 Feb 2016 STAVROS Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »