See other London properties

The Dictionary, Shoreditch

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 79% from 19 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great easy going hostel in good location, especially if you would like to visit Brick Lane, Shoreditch and Spitalfield areas etc.
  • 77%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Henrik Sweden
  • Most horrible hostel I have ever been. My room was directly above the bar or night club. The bed was vibrating due to the bass and the loud music they played downstairs. At three, they stop playing music and I could finally fall asleep. Lucky me, I had to get up at four. :( Additionally, the hostel was hard to find. No sign above the hostel which guided me the way to the entrance. However, I quickly could check in and check out. The staff seemed to be nice and helpful.
  • 51%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Manuel Germany
  • It's hard to give a good review because the experience was so mixed. Half the staff was excellent, half was not helpful at all. We woke up at 3:30 AM to see several MICE in our room, sharing a box of french fries someone left on the floor. When we told the staff the guy just told us there were no more rooms, and that the mice wouldn't hurt us.. Thanks. A. Lot. After asking again we got a new room, but with even more people in it.. (We went from 10 to 12 beds room.)
  • 57%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Norway
  • A wonderful Place to Stay in London!
  • 91%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Maude Switzerland
  • You meet great people from around the world: Brazil, Australia... Nice place to make a new friends, I loved it the atmosphere and a design inside the room. At one moment I thought it was someone's mistake putting me to a girls room. Average location, the rooms have a letters instead of numbers and I'm not a alphabet person, would prefer the numbers instead, so I got lost a few times inside the building. In the morning there were bagels -- it's a Luxury for the hostels A+++, 4 stars out of 5 ;)
  • 80%
  • 05 Aug 2013 Anonymous Lithuania
  • the windows were broken , so I couldnt open them during the extremely hot days. Almost everything was broken, faucet, kitchen, shower, light. room was quite dirty. I don't think they are ready to host guests as they are still fixing/refurbishing the whole building . very noisy street but lively, good location. make sure you can stay in a room without facing the Kingsland street. Breakfast was alright, average.
  • 57%
  • 24 Jul 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Your staff is very friendly and helpful. Due to renovation it was a bit crowded and complicated to get through from reception to my room, but renovations are temporary so I was willing to look past it for the time being. The rest of the hostel was up to standard and I really liked staying there. Will definitely be back if needing a hostel in the central London area.
  • 97%
  • 09 Jun 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Loud on a Saturday night but that is pay off for the great location close to so many bars, cafes and restaurants. Excellent facilities, clean and spacious rooms.
  • 91%
  • 12 May 2013 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »