See other London properties

The Dictionary, Shoreditch

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 80% from 15 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Cool hostel, nice staff, small showers, not that clean toilets, confortable matress.
  • 80%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Rui Portugal
  • The location is amazing. Only 30 minute walk into the city and right in the middle of trendy Shoreditch. The reception however, as well the kitchen and courtyard is very small and with the amount of people that frequent the hostel, it can become quite packed easily. It is also the first hostel where we had food stolen from us, for the storage facilities were horribly and the kitchen was constantly unclean and smelt horrid. The staff were constantly having fights with management.
  • 74%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice neighborhood, but a little far from "the center". Wi-fi doesn't work well =/ Kitchen most of time full os dirty dishes, but other parts clean and well equipped. There are big boxes below the beds where you can organize your stuff and lock it, very good!
  • 66%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Standard Hostel at an excellent location, nothing to complain - it's a hostel, not a hotel :-) Tip: Bring your own lock for your box underneath the beds.
  • 74%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Markus Germany
  • Dont recommend it at all
  • 43%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I would recommend anyone whom is looking for a very relaxing but also some fun place to stay. Everyone of the staff members are welcoming, friendly and will do all in their power to make sure your stay is well spent. GREAT VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY.
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous
  • Great place and very friendly staff!!!
  • 94%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Everything was perfect,but sometimes it was hard to sleep.
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • was the hostel up to 35 yo or not? I saw many people over 40, so whats the problem?
  • 60%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Michael Greece
  • Great easy going hostel in good location, especially if you would like to visit Brick Lane, Shoreditch and Spitalfield areas etc.
  • 77%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Henrik Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »