See other Dublin properties

The Dublin Central Hostel

5 Blessington Street, Dublin, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 83% from 17 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Cheap, clean, friendly staff, free breakfast. In a good area as well!
  • 97%
  • 29 May 2014 Laura USA
  • It was very central but on the north side of the Main Street where the action happens which made it a bit out of the way, but still walkable. The staff were helpful and the hostel was very quiet. The rooms and bathroom was clean.
  • 74%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed there 7 nights. Nothing to complain about. Good staff, clean place, big kitchen, smoking area, all was right. The place is located really close to city center, so this is really a good option if you're coming to Dublin for the first time and want to be close to all amenities.
  • 91%
  • 07 May 2014 Alfredo Italy
  • Good location, but the street isn't on any map we could find, and seems to be the only one in the area with no street signs! A 5 minute walk took us 90 minutes to find it. There's no lift, so don't take any heavy luggage unless you want to carry it up lots of stairs. Rooms were good size, but smelt of mould and bleach, had a block of wood holding the window open, shower doors didn't close, and an alarm went off at midnight. All up average experience in what could have been an excellent hostel.
  • 71%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Jordan
  • I stayed in an 8-bed mixed dorm. The bathroom was the most disgusting thing I've ever been in. The walls and ceiling were so spotted with mold and mildew that I had at first thought it was wallpaper. There was a small ledge under the toilet bowl for people's stuff, but there was fuzzy black mold growing out from under the bowl all over the ledge. I couldn't believe one of the roomates had put their stuff next to that hazard. There were also no other bathrooms to use. Breakfast was also sad.
  • 54%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel staff was amazing, Ian is the best. Hostel had a good kitchen and common areas (wish they were open later than midnight). Hostel was homey, bed was clean comfortable. Bathroom in our room was adequate (run down but fine with some shower shoes). Was there for St. Pats Day weekend and the price is hard to beat! People were respectful. No lockers in rooms. 15 mins to Temple Bar area wasn't the most ideal location but there is a bus outside you can take to the general area pretty often.
  • 66%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Kristen Canada
  • We had to switch rooms because the bathroom smelled like something died in there and made the bedroom smell horrible. The staff was nice enough to give us a new room. I don't think I would want to stay here for more than one night.
  • 57%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great, comfortable place to stay. Staff is very helpful with figuring out how to get around Dublin, and recommending things to see and do.
  • 97%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Brittany USA
  • When everything is perfect in a hostel that can offers you more services than a lot of hotels, you just can say: i'll be back. Great staff and good quality for a great price. Absolutely recommended!
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Daniel Spain
  • Location is really excellent (a few minutes from O'Connel and everything else). We've took a private ensuite, which was ok (very simple, but excellent value for money). No complaints. Our airplane arrived late and we had to wake up the staff for the check in, they were very helpful!
  • 91%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Anonymous Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »