See other Wellington properties

The Dwellington

8 Halswell Street, Thorndon, Wellington, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 91% from 12 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really nice place to stay, close to the city center, safe and clean, you'll feel like at home. WIFI does not work very well but for the rest I definitely recommand this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 03 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • Very average. Wasn't good, wasn't bad - I've seen better hostels and I've seen worse.
  • 60%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Alexander New Zealand
  • Everything was really good, the only issue was the wi-fi that was not working very well, maybe because of many people was using.
  • 94%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Great staff very helpful, great wifi connection, close to Cuba street (10 min walk). Bed was comfortable and bedding was very nice. Right next to US embassy so you can't be much safer. Very nice and clean bathrooms. Laundry machines were great also. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing place, we had such a great time here!
  • 100%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The Dwellington was one of the best hostel i stayed in nz. The room was nice and i had a good time in this hostel. I stayed there two times, in total 4 nights :)
  • 91%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • This is the best hostel that I've had ever stayed at... the kitchen was the highlight of the hostel everything was clean and new the rooms had outlets next to your room. "A major plus" in my book. I stayed a extra night because of the service I got from the staff.
  • 100%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • All new backpackers ! Probably one of the best in NZ ! Very nice and clean ! Great staff ! Free breakfest and wifi. It is worth to add few dollars in order not to be in the 8 bed dorm that can be noisy as the room is situated next to the common area and kitchen.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Belgium
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »