See other Kuala Lumpur properties

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 93% from 19 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels in KL. Very clean, well maintained, super friendly staff and awesome mattresses. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.
  • 97%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • Great hostel! Staff very friendly and helpful, very tidy, clean and safe. Is in a good location, right next to China town and is only a 2-5 min walk from the closest train station. The directions on their website aren't to clear so Google before you go. I was here by myself and never felt unsafe. Would recommend and stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Shelley England
  • Staff were friendly, and easy to converse with. It is 5 mins walk from Chinatown and a LRT station. Pudu Sentral is around 10-15mins walk away too. Good location and great ambiance. Definitely recommended.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jul 2014 DIng Feng Singapore
  • An amazing staff who did anything you needed with a great location and the rooms were very clean and we'll looked after
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2014 luke
  • This place was my 1st hostel experience. I choose this hostel based on my feeling and it was right!! i like this hostel. The most important thing is their cleanliness is superb!!. The staffs helped me a lot although i came late on my arrival day and always came late everyday. :P . I will comeback to stay here when i back to Malaysia and i already promoted this hostel to my friends too.
  • 83%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
  • I stayed a dorm. The room is big and quite but it can't receive wifi. The staff is nice and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • You can find cheaper places in KL but if you are looking for an easy, clean, cool, and friendly environment and don't mind paying 2 or 3 USD extra per night, than this place is for you. One of the best hostels I have staid in.
  • 91%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Ryan USA
  • The most comfortable bed I've slept in at a hostel. Everything was clean and well maintained. Location was fantastic--right next to Central Market and Chinatown with easy access to the metro.
  • 100%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly staff. Clean rooms.
  • 80%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Great location, nice staff. Don't expect too much from the breakfast, it's just toast, but you have free coffee all day. Nice rooftop terrace and common room. Rooms are ok and clean, as well the toillets.
  • 94%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Sarah Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »