See other Kuala Lumpur properties

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 88% from 25 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • They treated us really well. We have no complains plus they also helped us and provided information about tours tht was very useful.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jan 2016 Jeydels Alexander Nicaragua
  • The atmosphere is quite uncomfortable, idk why. Breakfast is sliced bread and instant coffee, and the lockers are too small for backpacks or suitcases so the room became crowded with people's stuff quickly. Staff didn't give you map or tell about city. But the location is convenient- next to the central market, the Pasar Seni metro station, Chinatown, and the purple line of the free GoKL bus. I would have spent the extra few ringgit for a better atmosphere and more helpful staff, though.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Friendly and helpful staff. perfect first stop for our journey trough asia but the atmosphere could have been a little bit better tho, felt like we were at a library sometimes. But overall a very good hostel with a perfect location. P.s Very very good Coffee!
  • 83%
  • 10 Dec 2015 Bass Sweden
  • Had a very comfortable stay in this hostel. Great facilities and atmosphere and the staff were very helpful on giving me directions and advice. Only annoying thing was that the room was on the third floor.
  • 97%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • Clean sheets, good bed n overall a very well maintained place.. Will surely stay again if on budget
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2015 Anonymous India
  • A lovely hostel that is clean, has good showers and washing facilities and was well worth the stay. It is central; 5/10 min walk from Pudu central and 5 mins from china town where you will find an array of street food and stalls. The hostel has computers for you to use and wifi works in the bedrooms as well as downstairs.
  • 89%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • The staffs were really kind and all the facilities including kitchen, restrooms, and the dormitory room were clean and tidy. One thing I thought inconvenient was free wifi is available only on the ground floor. Overall, it was great to stay in this guesthouse for 4 nights in KL downtown.
  • 91%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • I stayed there for three nights in a four bed dorm. It didn't have any windows but that was okay. The bathrooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is basic. There is security the whole night long. The location is perfect - Chinatown, Central Market and so on are just around the corner and the central bus station (Pudu Sentral) is just a 5 min walk. Wifi is only available in the common area on the ground floor but that makes everyone sit around there which creates a good atmosphere ;).
  • 97%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Wonderful staff! Very friendly and welcoming. Knowledgable about the location & suggestions.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Kia USA
  • This hostel has a nice vibe and good staff. There is a nice rooftop sitting area and I met a lot of cool people here. However, there are no laundry facilities (the closest laundry is about 8 books away; 15 minute walk) and there's no real kitchen for cooking meals. Also, most of the rooms don't have any windows; which makes mornings and turning on the lights very awkward. The air conditioning is very good, but you will often wake up freezing. Very clean rooms and bathrooms.
  • 74%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »