See other Kuala Lumpur properties

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 93% from 31 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel is a best choice if you come to Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. It was so clean and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. This is the best Hostel I have staid in..
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Loementa Franata Indonesia
  • Amazing Hostel. Cannot be at a better location in KL. Only one feedback - Please provide wifi in rooms also.
  • 91%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous India
  • pros: nice hot showers. tea available all day. staff are nice. air conditioning works. 90s light rock as ambient music -- hilarious. cons: other guests tended to keep to themselves. no wifi in the rooms.
  • 89%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is a best choice to if you will visit kuala lumpur. The staff is really accomodating! Ma'am ivy is super good to us. She really accomodated us well! She helped in explaining ways to go to the attractions! She even let us stay in the common area even if we checked out already! :) it was really a bery good stay here and i recommend this hostel to tourists who need a Place to stay!
  • 100%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • Really friendly staff, inviting environment, centrally located from everything including bus terminal, train station, etc. Very clean dorms and even includes breakfast and towel for free! Would definitely come back!
  • 94%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I´m in love with Kuala Lumpur. Those days there, were awesome. Stunning service at the hostel, they help you to organize and get beautiful experiences throughout your backpacking trip in Malaysia. I´m sure this hostel is the best over the city, the whole place makes you feel like home. I do really enjoyed my days in the Guesthouse. I can recommend it a lot! Thanks for everything. Cheers from Mexico.
  • 94%
  • 01 Dec 2014 MIGUEL Mexico
  • It was certainly beautiful. I've tried three hostels in Bangkok, KL, and Singapore, and so far, this one tops the list. The bus stops right in front of the hostel, you can walk to the MRT station and it is very near KL Sentral, just two stops away. Central Market is just round the corner, Petaling/Chinatown is a stones' throw away... To locate it, just say Bangkok Bank, it's right in front of it. If you're riding a cab, say Tun Lee and the driver will know where it is.
  • 97%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • Breakfast should be specify such as toast and coffee/tea; The common area is very hot in the morning and after 9 pm because the A/C is off and this should be specify because it's unbearable to stay in the common area.
  • 89%
  • 05 Nov 2014 Arlene USA
  • Best hostel ever! It was so clean and the staff was helpful. I felt safe and all the employees took the time to explain us how to get to the main attractions. They were patient and really nice. We arrived earlier and they invited us to have breakfast and relaxed as well as using their facilities. I would highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Claudia Canada
  • The hostel comprises of three floors, a lot of dorm beds, a lounge area with free flow of coffee and friendly staff. A simple breakfast is also included which endorses a familiar home-like atmosphere to the place. It happens to lie in the middle of all the bustle of china town which makes it a perfect start point to scout the area. It only misses laundry service, but that could be arranged only a block away. A recommended place.
  • 86%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Egypt
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »