See other Barcelona properties

The Hipstel

Carrer de Valencia 266, Barcelona, Spain, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 88% from 16 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • That was a good place to stay, just 10-bed room was too small and not really comfy. Common places was really nice.
  • 83%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Staff was really friendly toward our group and we had excellent conversation during our stay in Barcelona. Close enough for walkers to get where they want to go and close to metro as well. Recommended to others on our same study away program.
  • 77%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Domenic USA
  • I liked the hostel, good rooms, good bathrooms, and common rooms. My friend and I had a problem with the paella guy (there is a paella night), dinner was at 8:30pm, and he started serving the food at 8pm and didn't count the diches, when we arrived at 8:30pm there was only one little portion of rice. When we asked what happened he just said "things were that way". DON'T HAVE THE PAELLA. Besides that, the hostel is nice.
  • 89%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Peru
  • The hostel is centrally located and very close to Casa Batlló. The house is very nice as are the rooms and particularly the common area. The staff was very helpful too and there are a lot of activities going on at the hostel that you can participate in. The only criticism I have is that quiet hours were not enforced and so it was very loud throughout the night. For anyone who wants to go to sleep around midnight or earlier, this might be a problem.
  • 89%
  • 31 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • I was surprised how strict they were about quiet hours because all my friends and I did was laugh for a few minutes and we got told to be quiet at midnight.
  • 83%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Megan USA
  • The staff at the counter were hit and miss in terms off friendliness. One guy was super nice n helpful and one other one was quite surly. The atmosphere was nice.Good locAtion. Having to pay to use the computers is not cool. In the mornings it can get quite noisy so forget about sleeping in if ur in a room close to the common area. Not the easiest place to find if you arrive at night and don't already have access to a map or GPS on your phone as the street signs can be hard to locate.
  • 77%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The hostel was very well located. 20 minutes from the Airport by train and it has some metro station and bus stop nearby. WiFi and breakfast included were good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I met a lot of people during my stay here. I'd definitely come back here on my next trip to Barcelona.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • Amazing atmosphere, the staff was extremely friendly and the guests as well. The location was great and the experience there in general was awesome.
  • 100%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Luisa Brazil
  • This hostel was awesome!! The building is very nice, and if feels like you're staying in a grand hotel. It was very clean, and the staff was very helpful! The bunk beds are a little low, so it was a little annoying if you were in the bottom, and wanted to sit up. Also the wifi worked everywhere in the hostel, so that was really great! I would definitely stay here again!
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2013 Jonathan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »