See other Barcelona properties

The Hipstel

Carrer de Valencia 266, Barcelona, Spain, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 85% from 17 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Within walking distance of nearly everything. Nice kitchen, though it closes at odd hours. Wifi works everywhere. There are good common areas, and the hostel organizes events (like pub crawls and nightly dinners) so it's a really good spot to meet people.
  • 89%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, very central and helpful staff.
  • 86%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Don't stay at this hostel. The manager doesn't always apologize for some things and the only compensation he will offer you is another stay at the hostel if you've had a bad experience there, but he won't tell you how he will improve your stay the next time. If you ask for a reduction in what you paid them for your stay, you won't get anything. If you really care about customer service, save your money and look for another hostel, because the staff are lousy there.
  • 51%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Aofie Ireland
  • That was a good place to stay, just 10-bed room was too small and not really comfy. Common places was really nice.
  • 83%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Staff was really friendly toward our group and we had excellent conversation during our stay in Barcelona. Close enough for walkers to get where they want to go and close to metro as well. Recommended to others on our same study away program.
  • 77%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Domenic USA
  • I liked the hostel, good rooms, good bathrooms, and common rooms. My friend and I had a problem with the paella guy (there is a paella night), dinner was at 8:30pm, and he started serving the food at 8pm and didn't count the diches, when we arrived at 8:30pm there was only one little portion of rice. When we asked what happened he just said "things were that way". DON'T HAVE THE PAELLA. Besides that, the hostel is nice.
  • 89%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Peru
  • The hostel is centrally located and very close to Casa Batlló. The house is very nice as are the rooms and particularly the common area. The staff was very helpful too and there are a lot of activities going on at the hostel that you can participate in. The only criticism I have is that quiet hours were not enforced and so it was very loud throughout the night. For anyone who wants to go to sleep around midnight or earlier, this might be a problem.
  • 89%
  • 31 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • I was surprised how strict they were about quiet hours because all my friends and I did was laugh for a few minutes and we got told to be quiet at midnight.
  • 83%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Megan USA
  • The staff at the counter were hit and miss in terms off friendliness. One guy was super nice n helpful and one other one was quite surly. The atmosphere was nice.Good locAtion. Having to pay to use the computers is not cool. In the mornings it can get quite noisy so forget about sleeping in if ur in a room close to the common area. Not the easiest place to find if you arrive at night and don't already have access to a map or GPS on your phone as the street signs can be hard to locate.
  • 77%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The hostel was very well located. 20 minutes from the Airport by train and it has some metro station and bus stop nearby. WiFi and breakfast included were good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I met a lot of people during my stay here. I'd definitely come back here on my next trip to Barcelona.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anonymous Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »