See other Kunming properties

The Hump Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 85% from 15 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great staff, friendly and very helpful. Pillows covering in chairs need washing or thrown away. Totally bomb Internet service sucked. The only time it was available during morning until 10-11AM, if it work at all. Food over priced, bathroom stalls very small but excellent location.
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were very helpful, the rooms are large and clean with excellent lockers. They have a large communal area, with a pool table and table tennis table available. I thought the drinks were overpriced but many people still purchase them so I guess they can charge as they wish.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Location is best thing of the hostel. The ambient was not so good there...
  • 77%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I really enjoyed my stay at Hump. The location is fantastic, directly in the lively city centre. Big bus stop will connect you to all destinations. The bunk beds are sturdy, comfortable and equipped with personal power outlet and reading light. The room is spacious and I noticed a lady sweeping and mopping the rooms daily. The toilets are ok, but it is a big and busy hostel. Good bar, amazing view from the terrace. Staff was professional and nice on check-in. Good value, returning customer !
  • 83%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • We had a fantastic stay at The Hump again! The staff is very nice and helpful, the food is very tasty and the location is perfect!
  • 97%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Florian Germany
  • Very nice hostel in the middle of the city. Relaxed international atmosphere
  • 97%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Julia Germany
  • It was a standard hostel with good food. We had a pizza and pasta, which were pretty good. The only thing was the water pressure in the shower, and some of the showers didn't supply hot water. My son had a cold shower, and the weather was not definitely for a cold shower. It is supposed to be shortage of water in Yunnan province, but I am not sure. Another thing was that the hostel was on the third floor without an elevator, so if you have a heavy luggage, that may be a little difficult.
  • 80%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel is on a very good location, clean and comfortable, except that the bath room has no door.
  • 77%
  • 03 Dec 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »