See other Kunming properties

The Hump Hostel

Jinmabiji Area, Jinbi Road, Kunming, China, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 79% from 18 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really enjoyed my stay at Hump. The location is fantastic, directly in the lively city centre. Big bus stop will connect you to all destinations. The bunk beds are sturdy, comfortable and equipped with personal power outlet and reading light. The room is spacious and I noticed a lady sweeping and mopping the rooms daily. The toilets are ok, but it is a big and busy hostel. Good bar, amazing view from the terrace. Staff was professional and nice on check-in. Good value, returning customer !
  • 83%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • We had a fantastic stay at The Hump again! The staff is very nice and helpful, the food is very tasty and the location is perfect!
  • 97%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Florian Germany
  • Very nice hostel in the middle of the city. Relaxed international atmosphere
  • 97%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Julia Germany
  • It was a standard hostel with good food. We had a pizza and pasta, which were pretty good. The only thing was the water pressure in the shower, and some of the showers didn't supply hot water. My son had a cold shower, and the weather was not definitely for a cold shower. It is supposed to be shortage of water in Yunnan province, but I am not sure. Another thing was that the hostel was on the third floor without an elevator, so if you have a heavy luggage, that may be a little difficult.
  • 80%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel is on a very good location, clean and comfortable, except that the bath room has no door.
  • 77%
  • 03 Dec 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • We enjoyed our stay there because it has a nice international hostel atmosphere, a well-known bar and clean rooms in central location. Staff at the reception is quite unfriendly, especially the Chinese ladies. Don't rent bikes there because they're in bad condition. You will find better ones outside.
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • very good experience!
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Staffs are so suck. You will encounter arrogants many. Location is great. No airconditioner, and Do you like Bed bugs? Please enjoy the cute bugs. itch. haha suck.
  • 46%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »