See other New York properties

The Local NYC

1302 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 64 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • What a gem! I was so happy to find LOCAL NYC. The photos online are true to the clean, groovy atmosphere. The staff is truly willing to make your stay pleasant. The bar is awesome! I stayed in a female dorm and it was small, but the beds were comfy (nice duvet), bathroom was clean and enough space for each person to have a hook, locker, and outlets. There is even a cute reading lamp in each bed. The halls were quiet so sleep was possible! Lots of space for people to do their own thing!
  • 97%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Angela USA
  • Great hostel. Very accommodating, friendly, comfortable and secure. I'll be staying there again.
  • 97%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Richard Ireland
  • IT IS IN A SAFE NEIGHBOR.THE ROOM IS VERY CLEAN AND NICE.
  • 97%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous China
  • Very chill atmosphere with very nice, approachable staff. 10/10 would stay again
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I definitely recommand this place. I cannot think of any drawback really.
  • 91%
  • 12 Nov 2014 Rapahel France
  • The location is quite convenient (two blocks off subway) and very secure (I felt okay even walking after dark from the subway). You need to use your keycard to gain entrance to the hallway as well as your room, which I felt added to the security. Very nice open facilities - and one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. The dorm room set-up is very convenient - separate shower, toilet and sink areas before the sleeping area. I just wish the coffee bar was open earlier.
  • 97%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I recommand you to go see their webzine 😃
  • 91%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Eva Canada
  • I stayed only one night but for the price it was a great experience. I was charged a few extra but that was probably tax, at least I hope it was.
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Tu USA
  • I really enjoyed staying here! Clean, aesthetic, friendly, great coffee bar in the morning. Only a few blocks from the subway but not a well-traveled neighborhood.
  • 86%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Erica USA
  • Nice hostel overall. Nothing fancy, just the necessary stuff. Beds are fine. Everything looked fairly clean.
  • 71%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »