See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 51 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My sister and I had an amazing time at The Local NYC. Amazing staff, great coffee, good prices. Only two short blocks to the subway. Very safe, lots of storage.
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed 3 nights, nothing to complain about the hostel. Just one suggestion, they should watch for outside people that stay in the hostel for the night. All three nights I saw the same guy sleeping in the lounge area, with his backpack next to him. He obviously did not pay for his stay, didn't change his clothes, didn't shower either, I don't think it's fair. Not cheap, very nice hostel, but I would love to stay there for free as well.
  • 91%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Denise USA
  • Everything's perfect, thank you all for a great stay!
  • 97%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
  • Awesome spot! and really close to many subway stations.
  • 83%
  • 16 Oct 2015 Antoine Canada
  • I was in town for a concert, so I just needed a place to shower before it, and sleep after it. The Local, met all of those requirement. Getting there for me was a little bumpy. I got lost in Queens. But, I called the front desk, and asked for direction from where I was. And the lady on the phone was super helpful, she guided me to the right place. I finally made it there, and had a good laugh with the front desk staff. The room was very clean and was the perfect size, for my one night stay.
  • 89%
  • 10 Oct 2015 Briana USA
  • This is a lovely place to stay at, the staff are friendly and helpful, there is always something to do and someone to talk to. The hostel bar is awesome especially on live music nights. They could update the board games collection a bit though and put a shelf for toiletries in the shower but this are minor issues and didn't ruin the stay one bit. I absolutely recommend this place.
  • 97%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Eva Sweden
  • Very good hostel!
  • 97%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Tayfun England
  • Great hostel, very clean, good showers. They had computers for us to use for free, that was very helpful. The bar was good too, and there's an atm and a few bending machines. Staff was friendly. Location was good, you can get to Manhattan in no time by train, just one stop and you are in the middle of everything. The only bad thing was that the area wasn't really nice. Had to pay more than I'd been said because of the taxes. should really tell the real price, taxes included.
  • 89%
  • 16 Sep 2015 Laura Argentina
  • The Local NYC is a great place to stay. Its location is ideal: it is close to the city and there is a supermarket right next to the subway station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi, and you can do your laundry. The rooms are clean, but the kitchen could be cleaner. I would recommend the Local NYC to other solo travelers.
  • 89%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Catherine-Laure Canada
  • Although it might not have looked like much from the outside, the Local NY was clean, bright, and colorful! The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were traveling as a cultural group from a college (15 people, 4 rooms) and were able to book our rooms together as a block via It was very easy to get to Midtown Manhattan via Subway and the hostel has a great rooftop terrace with a view. All in all, a great value and a great place! Highly recommend.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Celia USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »