See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 89% from 52 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Although it might not have looked like much from the outside, the Local NY was clean, bright, and colorful! The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were traveling as a cultural group from a college (15 people, 4 rooms) and were able to book our rooms together as a block via Hostels.com. It was very easy to get to Midtown Manhattan via Subway and the hostel has a great rooftop terrace with a view. All in all, a great value and a great place! Highly recommend.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Celia USA
  • I was quite impressed with the hostel quality. I wish I could enjoy more the facilities, since I spent just a weekend on New York and spent most of my time visiting the city. I surely will come back and strongly recommend to everyone that is willing to visit New York.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • IT WAS AMAZING!!! Everyone was really cool and nice, and the hostel itself was GORGEOUS and very clean. They have a lovely wet and coffee bar with delicious pastries and hand pies! I had a wonderful time and will both definitely stay again and recommend to others!!!
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Micha
  • All good really, no complaints! You get to downtown via subway in no time.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jun 2015 RODRIGO Spain
  • Unfortunately, I only got to experience the hostel for a few hours but it was fabulous, what I experienced. I arrived very late in New York but found my way to the hostel easily and the reception was open all right so it wasn't a problem checking in. My room was on the 2nd floor which was a hike getting my big suitcase up but I presume most people only have a backpack so that's fine. The room was clean, Manhattan views, comfy bed, lockers, it was everything I wanted for an easy stay.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Georgia Australia
  • Very clean , great location in queens a 3min walk to sub way , great helpful and smiling staff , great bar tenders .
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2015 Chloe
  • Very good place, very clean and agreable.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 Laura Brazil
  • I was in NYC for a two week language program at Columbia. The Local was perfect: a short walk to the metro with lines that take you into Manhattan in a few minutes, very clean rooms and bathrooms (they have cleaners come through every day), a nice study area with lots of outlets for computers, and a bar/cafe where I got my morning coffee (very reasonably priced) and a beer at night coming back from classes. Hannah (one of the bartenders) was great and really fun to hang out with.
  • 94%
  • 25 May 2015 Chelsea USA
  • The only thing that was slightly bothersome was the fact that only one outlet in our bunk room worked. There is supposed to be an outlet and reading light for each bunk, but something funky was going on with the electricity in just our particular room (221). They did provide us with a power strip so there was enough outlets for us to charge our phones, but apparently this has been an ongoing problem in that room.
  • 86%
  • 09 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We were looking for cheaper accommodations in New York and loved The Local! It was close to the subway, about 15 minutes on the Subway to Times Square, and we always felt safe at any hour of the day. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend!
  • 94%
  • 06 May 2015 Erin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »