See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 91% from 49 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is a lovely place to stay at, the staff are friendly and helpful, there is always something to do and someone to talk to. The hostel bar is awesome especially on live music nights. They could update the board games collection a bit though and put a shelf for toiletries in the shower but this are minor issues and didn't ruin the stay one bit. I absolutely recommend this place.
  • 97%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Eva Sweden
  • Very good hostel!
  • 97%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Tayfun England
  • Great hostel, very clean, good showers. They had computers for us to use for free, that was very helpful. The bar was good too, and there's an atm and a few bending machines. Staff was friendly. Location was good, you can get to Manhattan in no time by train, just one stop and you are in the middle of everything. The only bad thing was that the area wasn't really nice. Had to pay more than I'd been said because of the taxes. should really tell the real price, taxes included.
  • 89%
  • 16 Sep 2015 Laura Argentina
  • The Local NYC is a great place to stay. Its location is ideal: it is close to the city and there is a supermarket right next to the subway station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi, and you can do your laundry. The rooms are clean, but the kitchen could be cleaner. I would recommend the Local NYC to other solo travelers.
  • 89%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Catherine-Laure Canada
  • Although it might not have looked like much from the outside, the Local NY was clean, bright, and colorful! The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were traveling as a cultural group from a college (15 people, 4 rooms) and were able to book our rooms together as a block via It was very easy to get to Midtown Manhattan via Subway and the hostel has a great rooftop terrace with a view. All in all, a great value and a great place! Highly recommend.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Celia USA
  • I was quite impressed with the hostel quality. I wish I could enjoy more the facilities, since I spent just a weekend on New York and spent most of my time visiting the city. I surely will come back and strongly recommend to everyone that is willing to visit New York.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • IT WAS AMAZING!!! Everyone was really cool and nice, and the hostel itself was GORGEOUS and very clean. They have a lovely wet and coffee bar with delicious pastries and hand pies! I had a wonderful time and will both definitely stay again and recommend to others!!!
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Micha
  • All good really, no complaints! You get to downtown via subway in no time.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jun 2015 RODRIGO Spain
  • Unfortunately, I only got to experience the hostel for a few hours but it was fabulous, what I experienced. I arrived very late in New York but found my way to the hostel easily and the reception was open all right so it wasn't a problem checking in. My room was on the 2nd floor which was a hike getting my big suitcase up but I presume most people only have a backpack so that's fine. The room was clean, Manhattan views, comfy bed, lockers, it was everything I wanted for an easy stay.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Georgia Australia
  • Very clean , great location in queens a 3min walk to sub way , great helpful and smiling staff , great bar tenders .
  • 97%
  • 30 May 2015 Chloe
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »