See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 33 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I enjoyed my second time at The Local. Great facilities, lovely cafe, and comfortable lodging.
  • 83%
  • 02 Mar 2017 Roya USA
  • The Local NYC was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. I had a sheet I was travelling with, but I thought it was odd that we were not given any bed sheets beside the mattress cover and the comforter. Also, the power strips on the large table were dusty and several of the outlets did not work on each of them. Other than that, it was great stay with helpful staff and great atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again. The ibuprofen I was provided was extremely helpful!
  • 94%
  • 11 Jan 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I would recommend some type of night stand/shelf by the beds.
  • 91%
  • 08 Jan 2017 Ali Eren Turkey
  • Incredible place- very welcoming and comfortable! Great service and atmosphere! We stayed before the ball drop and had a blast! They provide bedding and towels and have a GREAT bar!
  • 100%
  • 29 Dec 2016 Anonymous
  • Me and my friends had a great stay. No complaints.
  • 83%
  • 03 Nov 2016 Anonymous
  • The hostel is very unique however rooms are too small, there's no elevator. Good thing about that place is location, chillout zone and provided facilities.
  • 77%
  • 18 Oct 2016 Joanna Poland
  • This was a fun hostel to stay at. It was a little far from the touristy parts of Manhattan or neighborhoods like Brooklyn/Williamsburg, but it was easy enough to take the subway or make the 40 minute walk. Staff were helpful and the bar was nice for meeting people. There's not a whole lot to do in the immediate area, but there were a few breweries and a flea market nearby which was a lot of fun.
  • 86%
  • 15 Oct 2016 Charlotte USA
  • Good location
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2016 Lungyi Taiwan
  • The service at The Local was excellent. The room I was in was quiet and clean. The location of the hostel is very convenient to go anywhere in the city. The staff are friendly and efficient. I found them very helpful and easy to talk to.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2016 MEAZASH USA
  • Awesome hidden gem. Staff were super friendly. Laid-back atmosphere. Rooftop patio with a beautiful view of Manhattan was a hit. And has everything a traveller needs. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting NYC.
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Kyle Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »