See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 86% from 15 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Please tell the owner/boss to smile a bit instead of looking like local gang.member, it is really unpleasant. The rest of the staff were really kind and nice. The reason your wifi does not work is that there is user overload, please subscribe to a higher speed level of internet. Please put some soap on the toilet for washing hands. The staff in reception can have a better look-out for people that comes in. Basically anyone can get in and go to the rooms and take any belongings.
  • 71%
  • 12 Jul 2017 Pathris Denmark
  • The room was surprisingly, extremely clean, especially the toilets. A complimentary towel was provided. Also, security for this hostel was very good as there are lockers (free locks provided) in each room for every one, big enough to store your luggage. The location is good as well, 15min away from central park.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jun 2017 Jolene Singapore
  • Very clean, staff was very helpful. The bar/cafe was relaxed and comfortable. Would definitely stay again!
  • 89%
  • 20 May 2017 Melanie USA
  • My stay at the Local was pleasant, they had a nice bar and communal area to hang out as the rooms are very small and have no chairs. The staff were always friendly and helpful.
  • 83%
  • 31 Mar 2017 Katherine Australia
  • I enjoyed my second time at The Local. Great facilities, lovely cafe, and comfortable lodging.
  • 83%
  • 02 Mar 2017 Roya USA
  • The Local NYC was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. I had a sheet I was travelling with, but I thought it was odd that we were not given any bed sheets beside the mattress cover and the comforter. Also, the power strips on the large table were dusty and several of the outlets did not work on each of them. Other than that, it was great stay with helpful staff and great atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again. The ibuprofen I was provided was extremely helpful!
  • 94%
  • 11 Jan 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I would recommend some type of night stand/shelf by the beds.
  • 91%
  • 08 Jan 2017 Ali Eren Turkey
  • Incredible place- very welcoming and comfortable! Great service and atmosphere! We stayed before the ball drop and had a blast! They provide bedding and towels and have a GREAT bar!
  • 100%
  • 29 Dec 2016 Anonymous
  • Me and my friends had a great stay. No complaints.
  • 83%
  • 03 Nov 2016 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »