See other New York properties

The Local NYC

1302 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 91% from 40 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My room was noisy, probably because it was under the roof ventilation. With earplugs it was bearable. The rooftop is amazing!
  • 94%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Only 2 stops from the fun, easy to get to from jfk, really nice staff, space in the room, nice rooftop, ...And the bzr is perfect to meet the other travellers. Ive done 5 or 6 different hostels in NYC the last 6years and this is my favourite :)
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Aude Belgium
  • I stayed at the Local for 3 nights and my key card failed every night. Every night when I came back to the hostel I could get into the hallway and the laundry but my card wouldn't let me into my room. I had to go to reception every time I got back to the hostel and have my card changed or re-magnetized. It wasn't a faulty card as I had my card swapped on the first night and it wasn't a loss of magnetism as I could still get through to the hallway. It was a little frustrating.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 James Australia
  • I can't believe I can find such a great place in Ny. It's pretty close to subway. The room is clean and classic. Although $50 for a night is not the cheapest, but the quality definitely worth it.
  • 97%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Vincent Taiwan
  • Great place and customer service!
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Ronan Brazil
  • Would be better if food (meals) was available during the day and night.
  • 71%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Veronique Canada
  • I don't think I could've chosen a better place..clean, comfortable beds, conveniently located close to the subway station. Met some lovely people as well. Overall, had a great time here. Will definitely be going back if I'm ever in NY again.
  • 91%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • This is a great new hostel. It has one small drawback: it is two blocks from the E/M subway line in Long Island City, Queens. The ride to Manhattan is only ten minutes but at rush hour morning and evening it is extremely crowded. Best to avoid rush hour when traveling. Another plus: it's a half-hour walk to teaming Williamsburg Brooklyn via the Pulaski Bridge with great views of the city. Don't be put off by the sort of underdeveloped warehousey area. It's safe and very New York...
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 John USA
  • My favorite hostel so far. Very nice decoration. Arts, books, places for reading and relaxing, kitchen... everything is great. highly recommend!
  • 100%
  • 19 May 2014 Chunying China
  • This is really a cool place, the best hostel I have ever been!
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »