See other New York properties

The Local NYC

1302 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 55 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I recommand you to go see their webzine 😃
  • 91%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Eva Canada
  • I stayed only one night but for the price it was a great experience. I was charged a few extra but that was probably tax, at least I hope it was.
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Tu USA
  • I really enjoyed staying here! Clean, aesthetic, friendly, great coffee bar in the morning. Only a few blocks from the subway but not a well-traveled neighborhood.
  • 86%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Erica USA
  • Nice hostel overall. Nothing fancy, just the necessary stuff. Beds are fine. Everything looked fairly clean.
  • 71%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great facilities, you'll love it if you choose to stay here, modern, stylish, and new. But location is not perfect, locates in an industrial area, a few blocks away from subway, which seems a lot when come back dark. But I was told the area was safe, which seemed true as far as I stayed there.
  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • it was a great stay . the staff was very helpful & friendly and the hostel was very clean. located near d subway.. though there is nothing much nearby but again very close to the subway which makes it possible to go anywhere u want! they even provide free locks so u dnt hve to worry bout not getting a lock! you can leave ur baggage once u check out for a small fee of 1 dollar per bag.
  • 86%
  • 29 Aug 2014 IPSHITA India
  • Amazingly friendly staff, nice bar and clean space. The location is a bit "dicey" for a single female walking home alone, as the neighboring streets are rather deserted. Although nothing ever happened and I was totally safe, it is a bit dark and creepy to come home and need to walk 3-4 blocks past nothing but warehouses at 3 am after a fabulous evening of jazz downtown. Still, the nearby neighborhood is clearly on the upswing with lots of new development happening about 5 blocks away.
  • 80%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Maureen Canada
  • I had a great time at this Hostel, the staff was so friendly and the place was very clean. When you get to your room, you will get your own box to put your things in it. I had a very large backpack and it fit in there very well. The distance is no problem at all, depending wich station you go to, the blue and orange line is only a few minuts away, but the purple is 10 min. And the trains here never stops going, so you can go to a bar in the city and come back to the hostel without any problem:)
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Andrine H Norway
  • Great place, highly recommended.
  • 91%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • My room was noisy, probably because it was under the roof ventilation. With earplugs it was bearable. The rooftop is amazing!
  • 94%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »