See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 91% from 44 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Me and my friends had a great stay. No complaints.
  • 83%
  • 03 Nov 2016 Anonymous
  • The hostel is very unique however rooms are too small, there's no elevator. Good thing about that place is location, chillout zone and provided facilities.
  • 77%
  • 18 Oct 2016 Joanna Poland
  • This was a fun hostel to stay at. It was a little far from the touristy parts of Manhattan or neighborhoods like Brooklyn/Williamsburg, but it was easy enough to take the subway or make the 40 minute walk. Staff were helpful and the bar was nice for meeting people. There's not a whole lot to do in the immediate area, but there were a few breweries and a flea market nearby which was a lot of fun.
  • 86%
  • 15 Oct 2016 Charlotte USA
  • Good location
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2016 Lungyi Taiwan
  • The service at The Local was excellent. The room I was in was quiet and clean. The location of the hostel is very convenient to go anywhere in the city. The staff are friendly and efficient. I found them very helpful and easy to talk to.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2016 MEAZASH USA
  • Awesome hidden gem. Staff were super friendly. Laid-back atmosphere. Rooftop patio with a beautiful view of Manhattan was a hit. And has everything a traveller needs. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting NYC.
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Kyle Canada
  • If you want to stay safe and take a break, I strongly recommend everyone to place a book asap. If you want to make friends and get carried away a bit by making a noise through your trip, I do not recommend you guys to stay here. The local NYC was an awesome place. The building were fancy and just cool. Staff were very kind and spontaneous. I liked it very much.
  • 86%
  • 04 Sep 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • I had a great time. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • Everything about he hostel surpassed our expectations. I remember telling my partner before we arrived that I hope the hostel looks like the photos online, and to my amazement the photos online do not do the hostel justice. The Local NYC is a an retro beautiful place with an awesome atmosphere and a chilled downtime area. As soon as we arrived everyone was so super friendly, especially the staff. The dorms are so clean and modern, just enough space for all your necessities.
  • 97%
  • 19 Aug 2016 Heath South Africa
  • Great, just great
  • 97%
  • 07 Aug 2016 Antonius Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »