See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 52 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My roommate try to steal, but the staff doesn't act quick, but allow him to stay room with me, until I prove her the evidences. Poor Security!!
  • 49%
  • 08 May 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Amazing! Definetely recommend it. Clean, modern, great beds. Well located, just one subway station away from Manhattan. Staff was super nice and helpful. Would go again without hesitating! Would be great if they offered breakfast... Wouldn't mind pating a bit extra to have it!
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2016 Maria Paz Argentina
  • Great location, easy access to everything! Such an awesome place to stay and the staff is super sweet and helpful! I would definitely stay here again!
  • 94%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Meg Morgan USA
  • It is a clean facility and beautiful artistic building! I like it:) The shower room is kinda small but very clean! Thank you.
  • 94%
  • 09 Apr 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • Wonderful staff. . Very clean and elegant hostel
  • 100%
  • 02 Mar 2016 Anonymous Turkey
  • Although as an American who had travelled to and through NYC many times, it was only during the first week of March, 2016 that I actually took the time to 'stay' as in a 'foreign country' and in a 'hostel' to tour the City of New York. Little did I know at the time of booking what the 'new' 'boutique' hostels were all about. I was pleasantly surprised with LNYC. In a 'warehouse area', but done up in a 'loft-style' which is not only trendy, but, welcoming, friendly, and very inviting. Try it!
  • 100%
  • 01 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome little place you have here! Definitely want to commend Matt at the front desk for answering all my stupid questions with a smile. The morning cafe was awesome, definitely thanking Rachel for the top notch service and laughing at my bad jokes. The cafe/bar would be a little better if they served coffee later on into the night.
  • 94%
  • 06 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The Local is clean, organized, and homey. My female-only room was pristine and comfortable. I was happy with the size of the lockers, which fit my suitcase and backpack together. I spent most of my time in the common area, which has full bookshelves, computers, and a variety of seats and lounging chairs. The in-house cafe is lovely and has great tea. The kitchen was well-stocked and comfortable to eat in. I would highly recommend The Local. It was a great value for what I paid.
  • 97%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good location. Great value. Love the bar inside the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Michael USA
  • Top of the line! If I travel back, I will definitely look for The Local! I stayed at many hostels in NYC but this one is the nicest one yet!
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Pasi Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »