See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 91% from 53 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Local is clean, organized, and homey. My female-only room was pristine and comfortable. I was happy with the size of the lockers, which fit my suitcase and backpack together. I spent most of my time in the common area, which has full bookshelves, computers, and a variety of seats and lounging chairs. The in-house cafe is lovely and has great tea. The kitchen was well-stocked and comfortable to eat in. I would highly recommend The Local. It was a great value for what I paid.
  • 97%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good location. Great value. Love the bar inside the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Michael USA
  • Top of the line! If I travel back, I will definitely look for The Local! I stayed at many hostels in NYC but this one is the nicest one yet!
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Pasi Sweden
  • You guys run an absolutely fantastic hostel, the best I've ever stayed in. The best location and completely safe! All your staff are so amazing, shout out to Emily who worked the cafe/bar on christmas day and chatted with me for about 4 hours, you're made my christmas! My home away from home while I'm in New York for sure, keep up the fabulous work!
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Olivia Australia
  • I thought this hostel was great! Very modern, chic and cozy! My only suggestion would tell people to bring their own locks for the lockers as the ones provided are a bit too thin to secure everything in the provided lockers.
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice, clean hostel. The price was ok, considering this is New York. One could hear some noises through the walls.
  • 83%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Fantastic location right next to subway into Manhattan. Live music and very helpful staff, especially bar staff. Though other hostel guests were not always social, atmosphere was very nice. Only complaint is that the lockers in the room are not very secure.
  • 94%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • My sister and I had an amazing time at The Local NYC. Amazing staff, great coffee, good prices. Only two short blocks to the subway. Very safe, lots of storage.
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed 3 nights, nothing to complain about the hostel. Just one suggestion, they should watch for outside people that stay in the hostel for the night. All three nights I saw the same guy sleeping in the lounge area, with his backpack next to him. He obviously did not pay for his stay, didn't change his clothes, didn't shower either, I don't think it's fair. Not cheap, very nice hostel, but I would love to stay there for free as well.
  • 91%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Denise USA
  • Everything's perfect, thank you all for a great stay!
  • 97%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »