See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 91% from 50 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good place, very clean and agreable.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 Laura Brazil
  • I was in NYC for a two week language program at Columbia. The Local was perfect: a short walk to the metro with lines that take you into Manhattan in a few minutes, very clean rooms and bathrooms (they have cleaners come through every day), a nice study area with lots of outlets for computers, and a bar/cafe where I got my morning coffee (very reasonably priced) and a beer at night coming back from classes. Hannah (one of the bartenders) was great and really fun to hang out with.
  • 94%
  • 25 May 2015 Chelsea USA
  • The only thing that was slightly bothersome was the fact that only one outlet in our bunk room worked. There is supposed to be an outlet and reading light for each bunk, but something funky was going on with the electricity in just our particular room (221). They did provide us with a power strip so there was enough outlets for us to charge our phones, but apparently this has been an ongoing problem in that room.
  • 86%
  • 09 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We were looking for cheaper accommodations in New York and loved The Local! It was close to the subway, about 15 minutes on the Subway to Times Square, and we always felt safe at any hour of the day. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend!
  • 94%
  • 06 May 2015 Erin USA
  • One of the cleanest hostels I've ever been to. The front desk was helpful and friendly. They don't have printers, but they will print out your boarding pass for you if you forward it to them. There's a nice bar in the lobby that is open to the public, making the place really feel alive and part of the neighborhood. It's not a particularly wonderful area, but it's close to the E and the M, which will get you to Manhattan in 10 minutes.
  • 89%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Stuart USA
  • It's really good!
  • 91%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • It's just awesome!!!!!!!!!!
  • 97%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anonymous China
  • No hot water for most (all?) the building. And they continued to check in new guests after learning this! Is that even legal? No alternative arrangements for bathing or handwashing. No compensation for inconvenience. Not even a meaningful apology. I don't plan to return.
  • 60%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • New York is an expensive city and so whatever your experience may be will be more expensive here than in other big cities such as LA, but there's always a ratio between what you get and what you pay for that should reflect on what you chose. In this case, I could say this place would be excellent if a little cheaper. Two main reasons for it: location and room size.
  • 74%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The address is incorrect on the site. there is a dash.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Donald USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »