See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 26 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The service at The Local was excellent. The room I was in was quiet and clean. The location of the hostel is very convenient to go anywhere in the city. The staff are friendly and efficient. I found them very helpful and easy to talk to.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2016 MEAZASH USA
  • Awesome hidden gem. Staff were super friendly. Laid-back atmosphere. Rooftop patio with a beautiful view of Manhattan was a hit. And has everything a traveller needs. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting NYC.
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Kyle Canada
  • If you want to stay safe and take a break, I strongly recommend everyone to place a book asap. If you want to make friends and get carried away a bit by making a noise through your trip, I do not recommend you guys to stay here. The local NYC was an awesome place. The building were fancy and just cool. Staff were very kind and spontaneous. I liked it very much.
  • 86%
  • 04 Sep 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • I had a great time. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • Everything about he hostel surpassed our expectations. I remember telling my partner before we arrived that I hope the hostel looks like the photos online, and to my amazement the photos online do not do the hostel justice. The Local NYC is a an retro beautiful place with an awesome atmosphere and a chilled downtime area. As soon as we arrived everyone was so super friendly, especially the staff. The dorms are so clean and modern, just enough space for all your necessities.
  • 97%
  • 19 Aug 2016 Heath South Africa
  • Great, just great
  • 97%
  • 07 Aug 2016 Antonius Netherlands
  • Good staff and principally at the bar with John, good person.
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2016 RENE Mexico
  • Nice staff and clean facility! Metro line was about 3 min walk from the hostel so it was convenient to go back and forth from Manhattan. I would definitely visit here again :)
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2016 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »