See other New York properties

The Local NYC

1302 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 64 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Would be better if food (meals) was available during the day and night.
  • 71%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Veronique Canada
  • I don't think I could've chosen a better place..clean, comfortable beds, conveniently located close to the subway station. Met some lovely people as well. Overall, had a great time here. Will definitely be going back if I'm ever in NY again.
  • 91%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Philippines
  • This is a great new hostel. It has one small drawback: it is two blocks from the E/M subway line in Long Island City, Queens. The ride to Manhattan is only ten minutes but at rush hour morning and evening it is extremely crowded. Best to avoid rush hour when traveling. Another plus: it's a half-hour walk to teaming Williamsburg Brooklyn via the Pulaski Bridge with great views of the city. Don't be put off by the sort of underdeveloped warehousey area. It's safe and very New York...
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 John USA
  • My favorite hostel so far. Very nice decoration. Arts, books, places for reading and relaxing, kitchen... everything is great. highly recommend!
  • 100%
  • 19 May 2014 Chunying China
  • This is really a cool place, the best hostel I have ever been!
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Very new, nice people, cool art exposition at that time, small but well equipmet kitchen, spotless rooms, good espresso machine, practical location. Good choice will come back for sure!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Superb place. Friendly staff, very close to the subway and a few stops from Manhattan. The place was always lively, some event or other happening in the lobby. The rooms were clean and cozy. Well lit, with a lot of natural lights coming from the windows. And unlike other hostels I have stayed in it didn't feel large and anonymous, it was pretty easy to start a conversation in the kitchenette or the study area. Also a lot of value for money.
  • 97%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous India
  • Amazing hostel! Definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed at.It's hard for me to even add even a small criticism. I suppose the only thing I could see improvement on would be the kitchen, as it was a bit small. I loved my stay at The Local and would always come back if in New York again.
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2014 Jonathan Canada
  • We had a great time at The Local. The subway is a few blocks away and getting to Brooklyn and Manhattan was fairly simple. The facility itself was highly impressive and the staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend.
  • 94%
  • 02 May 2014 Andrea USA
  • The staff were the best hostel staff I've ever had the experience of. Very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating.
  • 91%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Daniel Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »