See other New York properties

The Local NYC

13-02 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 56 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is really a cool place, the best hostel I have ever been!
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Very new, nice people, cool art exposition at that time, small but well equipmet kitchen, spotless rooms, good espresso machine, practical location. Good choice will come back for sure!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Superb place. Friendly staff, very close to the subway and a few stops from Manhattan. The place was always lively, some event or other happening in the lobby. The rooms were clean and cozy. Well lit, with a lot of natural lights coming from the windows. And unlike other hostels I have stayed in it didn't feel large and anonymous, it was pretty easy to start a conversation in the kitchenette or the study area. Also a lot of value for money.
  • 97%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous India
  • Amazing hostel! Definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed at.It's hard for me to even add even a small criticism. I suppose the only thing I could see improvement on would be the kitchen, as it was a bit small. I loved my stay at The Local and would always come back if in New York again.
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2014 Jonathan Canada
  • We had a great time at The Local. The subway is a few blocks away and getting to Brooklyn and Manhattan was fairly simple. The facility itself was highly impressive and the staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend.
  • 94%
  • 02 May 2014 Andrea USA
  • The staff were the best hostel staff I've ever had the experience of. Very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating.
  • 91%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Daniel Scotland
  • Great hostel! It looks very new, modern, spacious and clean. I very much enjoyed my stay there.
  • 80%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Eliene Netherlands
  • Super clean, new, bright, hip hostel. Looks further out on the map, and was pleasantly surprised to be able to get to mid-Manhattan / times square in under 15 minutes. The location gets pretty empty and slightly sketchy looking at night though. View from the rooftop is amazing, make sure to have your breakfast up there! Other than that, it looks exactly like the photos. Ps- the cafe by the subway station (2 min from the hostel) serves a wide variety of food, good quality and CHEAP. Recommend
  • 80%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »