See other New York properties

The Local NYC

1302 44th Avenue, Queens, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.3km

Rating: 90% from 62 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Super clean, new, bright, hip hostel. Looks further out on the map, and was pleasantly surprised to be able to get to mid-Manhattan / times square in under 15 minutes. The location gets pretty empty and slightly sketchy looking at night though. View from the rooftop is amazing, make sure to have your breakfast up there! Other than that, it looks exactly like the photos. Ps- the cafe by the subway station (2 min from the hostel) serves a wide variety of food, good quality and CHEAP. Recommend
  • 80%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I was very impressed by this hostel! It is clean, the staff are incredibly friendly. It is easy to find, and literally a 5 minute walk from the subway. The rooms are good-sized - my friend and I slept in an all-female room with 2 bunk beds (sleeps 4), each with a big individual lockers located underneath. Bed linens, duvet, and a towel are provided. Each room also has a shower, toilet and sink so you don't have to do the awkward walk down the hallway with your toiletries. If you want, there are
  • 94%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Best hostel in New York hands down!! I would definitely stay there again. It was new, modern and very functional. The location wasn't a problem at all (you would have to take the subway middle of the night anyway no matter where you're staying). Recommend!
  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • This must be on the best findings EVER, such a cool place, loved how its a well-designed loft with a cool bar, it has great services and stuff is always willing to help you, I cannot complain of anything, it was perfect! If you come to NYC, stay here.
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous Venezuela
  • The hostel looks new and clean. I really love the open space on the first floor. The staff there is very helpful and warm. There is one thing I am not so satisfied. I found the fan, to keep us warm, so noisy. I could not fall asleep with it. But after I turned it down, it was not so cold. So over all, it was a great experience for me.
  • 83%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • As a New Yorker myself, it's rare I find myself staying at local hotels and hostels - but I was very happy to need a place to crash and to have found Local. The staff were thoughtful and kind. They gave me a book of delivery options for dinner and served decent wine and beer. The room (4 bed dorm - female) was small but well thought out with lockers for each guest, separate doors for the toilet and shower, and a sink available as well. I loved the fluffy duvet to sleep under.
  • 89%
  • 29 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 5 minutes walk to the metro 7 and E. The dorm is very big and clean. I like the bed and the Lubby. Staffs are kind and helpful~
  • 94%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Clean. The streets are confusing and it's hard to find. Scary in the dark...arrive early.
  • 91%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Carin USA
  • The location was convenient, the closest subway station is about three minutes away so you can be in Manhattan in 5 minutes. However, there isn't a lot of things to do within walking distance (without having to take the subway) I liked that everything was clean and new. The improvements I would like to see would be a better bar atmosphere, it kind of seemed dead all the time. The sound system was lacking there.
  • 83%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean Hostel very close to the Subway Station. Very modern interior giving a good atmosphere. Not extremely cheap, but probably the beat deal for New York!
  • 77%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Felix Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »