See other London properties

The Monkeys in the Trees

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England, Distance from city centre: 8.6km

Rating: 70% from 12 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • it took around a half an hr walk to get there from the nearest train station, the bathrooms had mold in them, the blankets provided were very small, and it did not help that the people who were staying in the room were screaming at each other at 4 in the morning.
  • 31%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Megan Canada
  • It was a nice place with a small pub underneath for a good beer. The internet barely made it up to my room on the 2nd floor, but still worked very well. The breakfast was normal level and I liked the staff, super nice. I didn't like the location too much, it was a bit difficult to get to bigger train stations and bus stops for the flying back out, but not the end of the world. I did have some mysterious bites the 1st night but they changed the sheets and the problem was solved luckily.
  • 89%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything that you would expect from a hostel is the "The Monkeys in the trees." The staff is serious, and enforce fair rules that make coexistence with other guests comfortable and friendly. The breakfast is really rich and quality with different flavors of jams and fruit juices, milk, tea, eggs, etc... The bathrooms are shared with all the guests and cleaned every morning. The rooms are clean and the beds are a bit 'essential; you have to be lucky to find even roommates clean and polite.
  • 86%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Not too bad, the staff were great, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included, free wifi. Also, the common area is a bar with comfy lounges. Its a little but of a walk to the nearest tube station, but no more than 8mins. Only one problem - you could feel every spring in the mattress.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Stacey Australia
  • Nice Staff, lovely bar and clean rooms. Didn't have any curtains on the beds yet, and female showers were really dirty.
  • 74%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Marie-Laure Belgium
  • By far worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Couldn't find the place as the pub is better advertised then the hostel. Pub downstairs, great- too bad I wasn't sleeping in there. The wifi connection would come on and off, impossible to browse/book anything while in the bedroom, best bet would be downstairs. Showers were unbelievable, would go from one extreme (hot) to the next (cold) without even touching it. Complained about this issue and said there was a problem with the pipes. Stay far away.
  • 40%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel! Staff was super friendly (even gave me a vitamin tab for my water to help cure my hangover). The location was good, about a 10 minute walk from the tube station and 2 minute walk from bus stop. Beds were clean, rooms were clean, bathrooms were alright. The showers kept changing from hot to cold while other people were taking there showers- its not that bad. I love how there was no curfew, free breakfast and wifi :)
  • 89%
  • 04 May 2014 Wendy Canada
  • Good hostel a little out of town, but nice and quiet.
  • 86%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Anonymous England
  • I was surprised by the three level bunk beds but it meant that I got to meet a lot more people and all the travelers I met were all wicked. The staff was great, they were doing construction at the time but they weren't too load and stopped around dinner time. The washrooms didn't have soap in them so I ended up walking to the kitchen every time to use the dish soap but other than that the place is great and there is a bar in the entrance.
  • 86%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Kayla Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »