See other London properties

The Monkeys in the Trees

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England, Distance from city centre: 8.6km

Rating: 74% from 11 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not too bad, the staff were great, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included, free wifi. Also, the common area is a bar with comfy lounges. Its a little but of a walk to the nearest tube station, but no more than 8mins. Only one problem - you could feel every spring in the mattress.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Stacey Australia
  • Nice Staff, lovely bar and clean rooms. Didn't have any curtains on the beds yet, and female showers were really dirty.
  • 74%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Marie-Laure Belgium
  • By far worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Couldn't find the place as the pub is better advertised then the hostel. Pub downstairs, great- too bad I wasn't sleeping in there. The wifi connection would come on and off, impossible to browse/book anything while in the bedroom, best bet would be downstairs. Showers were unbelievable, would go from one extreme (hot) to the next (cold) without even touching it. Complained about this issue and said there was a problem with the pipes. Stay far away.
  • 40%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel! Staff was super friendly (even gave me a vitamin tab for my water to help cure my hangover). The location was good, about a 10 minute walk from the tube station and 2 minute walk from bus stop. Beds were clean, rooms were clean, bathrooms were alright. The showers kept changing from hot to cold while other people were taking there showers- its not that bad. I love how there was no curfew, free breakfast and wifi :)
  • 89%
  • 04 May 2014 Wendy Canada
  • Good hostel a little out of town, but nice and quiet.
  • 86%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Anonymous England
  • I was surprised by the three level bunk beds but it meant that I got to meet a lot more people and all the travelers I met were all wicked. The staff was great, they were doing construction at the time but they weren't too load and stopped around dinner time. The washrooms didn't have soap in them so I ended up walking to the kitchen every time to use the dish soap but other than that the place is great and there is a bar in the entrance.
  • 86%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Kayla Canada
  • Six bed female dorm isn't too bad a size. Some showers & toilet facilities are a tight squeeze. Could do with a bit more room for luggage. Breakfast is more than adequate-especially given it is included in the price. Pub is lovely place to sit & have drink/coffee at reasonable price & the internet is good. Given the amount of people staying the place is quite quiet. Bar staff are great & make you feel welcome. Yes there's room to a little bit cleaner and DIY to be done but all in all great value
  • 91%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous Scotland
  • Just felt extremely annoyed by a Spanish girl. She got woken up by snore but she didn't tell the snored person. She kept on making strange noise and shaking bed!! The one slept under her, me, was woken up by her stupid and naive action!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can't sleep afterward!! So please be prepared there is snore in hostel and please, bring your own earplug.
  • 80%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »