See other Riga properties

The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel

50 Kaleju Iela, Old Riga, Riga, Latvia, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 93% from 16 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, in the old town. Super comfortable rooms, with a lot of space and good pillows. Nice staff and atmosphere. Would come back!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2016 Anonymous Italy
  • We arrived Sunday 17.7 late, around midnight and our room window was open. We didn't notice that as it was behind curtains. So from around 12 to 5 in the morning me and my girlfriend were killing mosquitoes without any sleep. That was not nice at all as it ruined one night/day from two days visit. So please close windows or do something with mosquitoes before guests are coming is my advice. Other that that hostel was nice.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jul 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • If you don't like party hostels, this is likely not to be your place
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2016 Andrea Colombia
  • We had the most wonderful time staying at the Naughty Squirrel and would definitely recommend it to anybody heading to Riga. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is very welcoming. The pub crawl arranged by the hostel was so much fun and they arrange many other trips. If I find myself back in Riga one day I will not think twice about staying in the Naughty Squirrel again, thoroughly recommended! We all miss it already.
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2016 Anonymous England
  • I enjoyed my stay @ Naughty Squirrel. Great staff, great atmosphere, lots of activities offered, central location in between bus & train station and the Old Town. Renovated rooms, your own towel, lamp, and double socket. Well-considered security system: you get a key-card which opens the door to the hostel, your floor and your room - so no surprises.. Can't think why I shouldn't give it a top score. P.S. Bear in mind this is more of a social type of hostel rather than a sleepy village.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • A cool and central place to stay at!
  • 91%
  • 27 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Probably your best option in Riga. Great staff, great atmosphere. Perfect value for money. Free local drinks on arrival. Private reading light, comfortable stable beds, private socket: as it should be. Bathroom needs some renovation, but still decent. Great stay.
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Anonymous Belgium
  • In the heart of old town,easily to find the hostel,very close all transports,five minutes from bus and train station or supermarket/ city market,3 minutes walk to bus -stop to Riga airport only 2 euro. I sleep in 4 bed dorm,nice room/bed ,big bed with facilities of light and each bed has curtain ,locker etc. all in room completely.safty by e-key card,happy in common room with games toilets room enough ,small and small kitchen but all the best especially friendly staffs.
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2015 ek-rath Thailand
  • Best hostel in Riga. Fantastic atmosphere, and the best staff in the world. There is always plenty to do. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I will be back VERY SOON!
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »