See other Riga properties

The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel

50 Kaleju Iela, Old Riga, Riga, Latvia, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 89% from 24 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 99%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean & cosy hostel, superfriendly helpfull staff, quiet rooms at night, excellent central location. Really feel to have made the best choice for money-value. Small kitchen but still not crowded at breakfast time, unfiltered free coffee is weird for us western european tourists ( but still delicious ). Hot chocolate to add at drinks list for cold evenings, I hope. But I definitely would come back here.
  • 94%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Gert Belgium
  • Fun, friendly, and helpful staff make this stay unforgettable. location is very central close to all pubs and bars and lots of people around. they arrange very fun events that you can participate in, and there are always ppl at the lobby if you are seeking a conversation or want to know other interesting travelers. place is not a quite relaxing place so don't bother yourself and others if you are looking for a relaxation trip.
  • 89%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very hard working staff and outstanding hostel overall. However, a total Sausage fest.....
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Konrad USA
  • We got a free shot of balzam when we checked in. Lovely place with very friendly staff!
  • 80%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Victor Sweden
  • Excellent hostel, we had fun and it was too easy to know people.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • We booked a private room with private bathroom 8 months in advance. When we arrived... no rooms were available because it was early (11 AM) After some minutes, a couple checks out.. and they "clean" the room in astonishing 10 minutes and give it to us. This room, did not have a private bathroom and the floors were absolutely dirty (Not to mention the dirty ugly carpet they put on the bed). The lack of bathroom was a "system error".. this Place does not deserve at all be no1 in riga.
  • 40%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • A very nice and friendly place. Only had a problem with mosquitoes and that our private shower poored water all over the bathroom floor. Other than that, the hostel was very nice, friendly staff and super location in the old town.
  • 91%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Very very nice, highly recommended. Great location, warmest atmosphere. Comfortable rooms and beds.
  • 97%
  • 04 May 2014 Polina Russia
  • Me and my four friends went to Riga for a little party vacation. We didn't expect that much from the Hostel for the price we paid, however we were very positively surprised. The room had a very warm atmosphere and perfect for a group of 4-6 people. The communal rooms were great as well, packed with lots of games and couple PC's. Btw, free WiFi everywhere. The staff was amazing. They chilled with us, drank with us and partied with us in general. Best Hostel I've ever been to.
  • 94%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Joscha Germany
  • The Naughthy Squirrel was just amazing. We were 3 danish girls and we had so much fun.
  • 89%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Laura Bitte Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »