See other Riga properties

The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers Hostel

50 Kaleju Iela, Old Riga, Riga, Latvia, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 92% from 19 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I enjoyed my stay @ Naughty Squirrel. Great staff, great atmosphere, lots of activities offered, central location in between bus & train station and the Old Town. Renovated rooms, your own towel, lamp, and double socket. Well-considered security system: you get a key-card which opens the door to the hostel, your floor and your room - so no surprises.. Can't think why I shouldn't give it a top score. P.S. Bear in mind this is more of a social type of hostel rather than a sleepy village.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • A cool and central place to stay at!
  • 91%
  • 27 Dec 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Probably your best option in Riga. Great staff, great atmosphere. Perfect value for money. Free local drinks on arrival. Private reading light, comfortable stable beds, private socket: as it should be. Bathroom needs some renovation, but still decent. Great stay.
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Anonymous Belgium
  • In the heart of old town,easily to find the hostel,very close all transports,five minutes from bus and train station or supermarket/ city market,3 minutes walk to bus -stop to Riga airport only 2 euro. I sleep in 4 bed dorm,nice room/bed ,big bed with facilities of light and each bed has curtain ,locker etc. all in room completely.safty by e-key card,happy in common room with games toilets room enough ,small and small kitchen but all the best especially friendly staffs.
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2015 ek-rath Thailand
  • Best hostel in Riga. Fantastic atmosphere, and the best staff in the world. There is always plenty to do. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I will be back VERY SOON!
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed at The Naughty Squirrel for four nights and it was an enjoyable experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, welcoming me with a shot of the powerful local liquor on my arrival. My dorm room was spacious and clean. Each bunk had a night light and two electrical plugs, a rarity in most hostels. The common lounge and kitchen area were great places to meet and talk with people. The kitchen area was a bit small, but there were plenty of cups, dishes, pots and pans.
  • 94%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Geronimo USA
  • This is a party hostel. Not inside, but outside. But the noise reaches inside, so it feels like sleeping in the middle of a party. It is a non smoke hostel, but feels like it if you open the window. If you stay here, ask for a room far away from room 38. It is strange that we found so few comments on noise on trip advisor. But nice staff, room and facilities.
  • 71%
  • 28 Aug 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • My roommates were the best even though I am a lot older than they were we had such great conversations and one of them helped me with my luggage to the bus stop which was so kind and thoughtful. This is what I love about hostelling over hotels. One thing I do think your hostel could do is enforce a quiet time when it is time to sleep as some people still do like to sleep rather than party. The guys in this hostel were especially noisy so put a limit on the partying.
  • 89%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. We had so much fun! I will recommend my friends to go to Riga, just to stay here.
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Karen Denmark
  • If you're the social type and don't mind being woken up by people coming home from the pub crawl between 3 and 5 am, this is great. Bunk beds were comfy and sturdy, staff was very helpful and the kitchen was nice and clean (as were the bathrooms). The only really bad thing were the lockers, they were big steel cages on wheels kept under the beds, and super noisy to open. In other words, you woke up the whole room if you needed something in there in the middle of the night.
  • 91%
  • 07 May 2015 Nannie Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »