See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 87% from 26 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great experience all around. Met new friends and I saved some money.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I can defently recomend this place! Its located close to the Subway, restaurants and alot of cool hipsterbars. Good walue for monney! If im ever going back to New York, there is no dubt that Thats where I Will be staying :)
  • 89%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Kristian Norway
  • I was very pleased with my stay at NY Loft Hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even when I was a little flustered with events. They replaced a lost room key without a hassle, and moved me into a new room when I had problems with a roommate. I would highly recommend this hostel to other travelers.
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay , full kitchen with great breakfast ..eggs, oatmeal, granola, fruit , jams/jelly and peanut butter , milk , coffee/tea , quite quiet in the hostel at night considering there's lots of action in the basement entertainment room . Staff are really nice, helpful and knowledgeable . subway is only 3 blocks away , and there's a gym right across the street . I would definitely stay here again .
  • 91%
  • 16 May 2016 Doris Canada
  • I liked this hostel very much. It had a great atmosphere, a very nice kitchen and nice rooms. Overall, this is the best out of the 3 NY hostels I've stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 01 May 2016 Lukas Switzerland
  • Bright, clean. In Bushwick - hipster hood - great natural food stores, famous Roberta's Pizza, bars. A few stops away from fun Williamsburg too. I didn't find the hostel easy for meeting other travellers though, as despite them having a basement bar, they always had bands playing, which was good but was not very conducive to chatting to others. Not allowed to drink alcohol in any area of hostel except bar! Outdoor patio would be great to meet other people if you were allowed to drink out there!
  • 74%
  • 26 Apr 2016 Anonymous England
  • Only one little thing...There was some work being done on the fire system, which is totally fine! I'd prefer to be in a building with functioning smoke detectors. But I also would have liked a head's up. No members of staff informed me while I was checking in, there was no email... nothing, and the men were working late into the night, not telling me they wouldn't be working in my room until about 10 PM. Next time that level of maintenance is going to happen, please let your guests know!
  • 77%
  • 10 Feb 2016 Katherine USA
  • Can't beat the value for the price. Good location with easy access to the metro and CitiBike stations. Breakfast included was definitely a plus! Would recommend
  • 86%
  • 17 Jan 2016 Khalafalla USA
  • Such a great experience! Beautiful hostel, feels almost like a hotel (amenities-wise) but with the fun community of hostels. The bar is really fun and they have pretty good deals, it's really easy to get into the city and the area is really nice. Just having a hostel with so much space and even a courtyard is a rarity in NY and really adds to the experience. I'll definitely stay there again!
    Owner Comment

    We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Be sure to visit us again and explore more of Brooklyn :)

  • 97%
  • 21 Oct 2015 Lisa Sophie Austria
  • Cute place in Williamsburg? Yes! Free breakfast, including fresh fruit & hot coffee? Every morning! Friendly & helpful staff? Always! Easy to meet cool people from all over the world? Oui! A short walk from the L-train? You know it! A rocking Basement Bar with open mic & drink specials? Totally! Would I go again? Undoubtedly so! Do I recommend this place? I'm recommending it right now! I stayed for 5 days & NYLH felt like home. I made some amazing friends here & I already miss being at the NYLH.
    Owner Comment

    We are so thrilled to know you had an incredible experience with us! We hope to see you back very soon- there is so much more to explore in NYC! :)

  • 100%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »