See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 82% from 39 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Only stayed here one night and didn't partake in any of the activities, but they seemed to have a lot of fun things going on. The staff was friendly and sociable. The hostel was in kind of a warehouse area and I felt a little unsafe walking back to the hostel from the subway station at night. My only complaint about the hostel itself is that there were no outlets in the room, only one in the bathroom. That said, charging my phone was a bit of a challenge. Overall, a great place to stay!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for the great feedback! We appreciate your business and we hope to see you back very soon! Next time, check out our outlets in the kitchen- they are located underneath the dining tables! :)

  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels in Brooklyn
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your kind words! Please visit us again :)

  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was overcharged by nearly $100, had to later ask for a refund. I found the staff unhelpful and rude, even though it was there mistake. There was no social atmosphere here at all, by far the worst hostel I have stayed at, and I have stayed in a LOT of hostels. Wi-Fi connection was terrible, it kept cutting out and when it did work it was very slow, it also only worked in certain areas. No iron, even though listed in facilities. Bar played loud music till 3am so you won't get much sleep either.
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate your review and will take your suggestions to help better our services in the future. We offer free ear plugs as well as irons behind the front desk reception area. Please join us this summer and enjoy our BBQ's and happy hour in the garden! Happy travels!

  • 34%
  • 29 May 2015 David England
  • BEAUTIFUL building, great staff
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much!! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! :)

  • 94%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent location and very easy to meet other travellers. Bar was closed during my stay. Also no blankets in the room, and was cold at night.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon this summer so you can enjoy our summer BBQ's!

  • 77%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous
  • There was an A/C installed in my room (107) during my stay which made it impossible to close the window fully - that will be a problem during the winter since sometimes it was way too cold in the night, and I was there in May!
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate your review. We will take your input to better improve our services. Please visit us again soon!

  • 83%
  • 12 May 2015 Laura Germany
  • First, the good. This hostel is the most unique I've ever stayed at with the layout and everything looks new. The place is big and it would be easy to not run into another person here. The rooms are only 3 beds which is nice. Bad is that this hostel attracts people who don't know how to hostel. And the SEVERE CONSTRUCTION on the rooms around mine at 730am (talking drills, saws and metal scraping). Which by the way the construction workers used our bathroom and made sure to make it disgusting
    Owner Comment

    Hello, We appreciate your review. We apologize for the excessive noise from our necessary renovations. We are working to improve our hostel for greater customer satisfaction. We do wish to see you back soon so you can enjoy our new and improved space! Happy travels!

  • 66%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Natalie USA
  • Everything was excellent except for one thing - the Internet. Wifi connection was fine but internet speed was extremely slow. This is a major pain for those of us far from home. It's something so important that I would switch hostels because of it in the future. Other than that the hostel was awesome.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your helpful review. We want nothing more than 100% customer satisfaction. We have since improved our Wifi connection throughout the whole building. We hope to see you back soon!

  • 94%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I didn't find the staff very helpful or friendly. I had to figure my way around the hostel myself and I would have appreciated a little more guidance upon checking in. Thankfully the other guests staying there were very welcoming and helpful.
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate you reviewing us! We hope to see you again soon.

  • 71%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice atmosphere, very social. Rooms can be a bit cold during winter, extra blankets are availible. Some bathrooms didn't really have hot water, but knowing that it is easy to just use another one. Good kitchen facilities.
  • 80%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Erika Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »