See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 82% from 58 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • at first you'll find the area a bit sketchy, however it's not as unsafe that might seems. it's a ok hostel, not in manhattan, but you can easily get there by subway which is just a few blocks from the hostel. they should improve the wifi, because while my stay there were times it's was just not working at all.
  • 66%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Have a storage room for luggage, which they may or may not charge you $3/day for. I got lucky and didn't get charged! Most of the staff at the front desk were pleasant. Some of the activities advertised on the website here aren't up to date. For example I think they no longer do fondue on Sunday nights. Perhaps worth calling ahead if that's important to you.
  • 83%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 部屋はもちろん共有エリアもいつも清潔で掃除も行き届いたホステルで満足です。割り当てられる部屋やベッドによっては不都合が少しあるかもしれません。備品の細かいとろまでは完全にケアされてないかも、しかし金額を考えればまずまず良い宿でした。
  • 83%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous
  • The only thing is that my driver's license was required when the staff member was checking me in, and she forgot to give it back to me :( Thank goodness I happened to come downstairs to ask a question that was totally unrelated, and then she was like, oh, by the way, you left your license here and I was thinking of bringing it up to you but got preoccupied. Bummer man. Other than that, she was highly attentive and cordial.
  • 77%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Joanna USA
  • Good relation price / quality and just 15 minutes from 14th Street.
  • 89%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Christian Peru
  • It's my second time here, I like it very much! But sometimes the heater is not working very well though.
  • 63%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • Please improve the size of the lockers, they are too tiny!!!
  • 77%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • It's a good hostel with friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional staff. The room is spacious. BBQ on Wednesdays and Fridays are appreciated. However the water was luke-warm in the shower and we had cold water in our sink although they fixed it after we told them. But overall it's a nice hostel, enjoyable experience, I'll come back again!
  • 77%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • hostel is in a great Location, very close to the subway (L-Train that goes to Manhattan in a few stops). Lots of vintage Shops, Restaurants. Bars and Cafes nearby. our room was small but clean, the bottom bunk was wide enough to sleep two comfortably. bath room and sink were on the small side too. the hostel has free breakfast and other activities like movie night, barbeque and staff were always happy to help you out with any questions.
  • 100%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Elisabeth Austria
  • This hostel is located in an industrial zone at Brooklyn, I went with my girlfriend and two blocks away from the hostel I was almost stolen by two black guys. We had to take a taxi to arrive to the hostel because no one knew how to get there so GPS was absolutely necessary. It was really a bad experience in my trip, don't stay at this hostel you will not be peaceful at all
  • 34%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Nicolás Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »