See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 83% from 37 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pretty good hostel, but pretty average bedding, no outlets at every bed, you have to pay for your towel... Breakfast is included and good enough! Booked three nights, had to sleep in three different rooms. Not convenient at all and staff didn't help much; they didn't want to change my reservation because the hostel was full, even to a cheaper room at the same price which I would have preferred...
  • 71%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Anonymous France
  • People shouldn't be put off by the location, as the local area is perfectly safe, with all the necessary amenities within walking distance. Also, Manhattan is closer than many people think.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for the helpful review! :)

  • 97%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Rory England
  • Awesome place! Beautiful decoration and design. Friendly atmosphere. It's not so far from the city. The neighbourhood seemed strange at first (industrial buildings, abandonned factories, etc) but it seems like many artists are living there in lofts in those buildings. The little shops near the hostel seemed interesting too! Will definitively come back there if I go again to NYC!
    Owner Comment

    Hey! We are so happy you discovered the beauty that is Brooklyn! Please visit us again soon :) There is so much more to see! Happy travels!

  • 100%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Only stayed here one night and didn't partake in any of the activities, but they seemed to have a lot of fun things going on. The staff was friendly and sociable. The hostel was in kind of a warehouse area and I felt a little unsafe walking back to the hostel from the subway station at night. My only complaint about the hostel itself is that there were no outlets in the room, only one in the bathroom. That said, charging my phone was a bit of a challenge. Overall, a great place to stay!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for the great feedback! We appreciate your business and we hope to see you back very soon! Next time, check out our outlets in the kitchen- they are located underneath the dining tables! :)

  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels in Brooklyn
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your kind words! Please visit us again :)

  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is located in a very cool, hippy neighbourhood. You can all sorts of indie-dressed young folks roaming the streets at night. A big minus is the location, as it is far from Manhattan where most of the tourist attractions are. I moved to Manhattan after one night's stay in this hostel, but I do not regret living there at all for the experience was great. Beware that the rooms are not always clean and I seriously suspected that the sheets were not changed often..
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate your feedback and helpful suggestions. Our House Keeping team is on premises everyday and we are located only 15 minutes away by subway to central Manhattan. We hope to see you back very soon!

  • 66%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Anonymous China
  • I was overcharged by nearly $100, had to later ask for a refund. I found the staff unhelpful and rude, even though it was there mistake. There was no social atmosphere here at all, by far the worst hostel I have stayed at, and I have stayed in a LOT of hostels. Wi-Fi connection was terrible, it kept cutting out and when it did work it was very slow, it also only worked in certain areas. No iron, even though listed in facilities. Bar played loud music till 3am so you won't get much sleep either.
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate your review and will take your suggestions to help better our services in the future. We offer free ear plugs as well as irons behind the front desk reception area. Please join us this summer and enjoy our BBQ's and happy hour in the garden! Happy travels!

  • 34%
  • 29 May 2015 David England
  • BEAUTIFUL building, great staff
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much!! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! :)

  • 94%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent location and very easy to meet other travellers. Bar was closed during my stay. Also no blankets in the room, and was cold at night.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon this summer so you can enjoy our summer BBQ's!

  • 77%
  • 19 May 2015 Anonymous
  • There was an A/C installed in my room (107) during my stay which made it impossible to close the window fully - that will be a problem during the winter since sometimes it was way too cold in the night, and I was there in May!
    Owner Comment

    We appreciate your review. We will take your input to better improve our services. Please visit us again soon!

  • 83%
  • 12 May 2015 Laura Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »