See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 81% from 35 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • While the Bar is nice it can be quite loud if you just want to sleep. The Location has some kind of Hipster-like-feeling to it, most people around are just really cool. The staff just was nowhere to be found when we wanted to check out, which really sucks, since we had a Bus to catch. We just left our Keycards with a little note on the reception desk. Hope that worked.
  • 80%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Great stay in New York City. Helpful staff who completely broke the stereotypes of New Yorkers one may had. And the atmosphere, it's got that hipster vibe which intricately weaves into the neighborhood in Williamsburg. Given the reasonable price and location, I'd say the cleanness is totally tolerable even exceeding my expectation. Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. I'll go back for sure.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

  • 94%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Todo for the processo in NYC. Not good cleanlines in the rooms. Atmosphere is great.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Loved the place and the location. But for that price I'd liked cleaner bathrooms... But the rest was perfect.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We will take your advice to help better our services. We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • I really liked the look of this hostel and I loved the kitchen area, it was so open and beautiful. Our room was also very spacious. The washroom however smelled really bad like sewage. A word of caution, the hostel apparently rents out the basement area to private functions so if you are staying on the first floor you may hear really loud drumming and bad singing on Friday and Saturday nights. Its very annoying when trying to wind down for the evening I suggest to bring earplugs.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We appreciate your input and will take your advice to better our Hostel. We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great place--it's all very clean and well-organized, and the rooms are really spacious for a hostel. I was only there for one night, unfortunately, and I had to get up early for a flight home, so I didn't have a chance to use most of the facilities, but I liked what I saw--big kitchen with lots of fridge space, for instance, and what looked like a fun schedule of activities. Front-desk staff were friendly and helpful, even at 4 a.m.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 91%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The picturs are not correct. I booked on a three bedroom based on the pictures I saw - a larg room with big windows. When I got into the room I was very surprised - I got a small room with one small window. just when I talked with the staff they checked over and over again and luckily they had an availble bad to gave me to the biger room which was much more better but not clean! Also its a shame that they charg money for a storege room!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We appreciate your input and will take your advice to better our services. We hope to see you soon!

  • 74%
  • 08 Apr 2014 David Israel
  • at first you'll find the area a bit sketchy, however it's not as unsafe that might seems. it's a ok hostel, not in manhattan, but you can easily get there by subway which is just a few blocks from the hostel. they should improve the wifi, because while my stay there were times it's was just not working at all.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We have since improved our internet service. We hope to see you soon!

  • 66%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Have a storage room for luggage, which they may or may not charge you $3/day for. I got lucky and didn't get charged! Most of the staff at the front desk were pleasant. Some of the activities advertised on the website here aren't up to date. For example I think they no longer do fondue on Sunday nights. Perhaps worth calling ahead if that's important to you.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We offer fondue during the winter time and BBQ during the summer. We hope to see you soon!

  • 83%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 部屋はもちろん共有エリアもいつも清潔で掃除も行き届いたホステルで満足です。割り当てられる部屋やベッドによっては不都合が少しあるかもしれません。備品の細かいとろまでは完全にケアされてないかも、しかし金額を考えればまずまず良い宿でした。
    Owner Comment

    あなたのレビューをありがとうございました !

  • 83%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »