See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 82% from 37 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place--it's all very clean and well-organized, and the rooms are really spacious for a hostel. I was only there for one night, unfortunately, and I had to get up early for a flight home, so I didn't have a chance to use most of the facilities, but I liked what I saw--big kitchen with lots of fridge space, for instance, and what looked like a fun schedule of activities. Front-desk staff were friendly and helpful, even at 4 a.m.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 91%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The picturs are not correct. I booked on a three bedroom based on the pictures I saw - a larg room with big windows. When I got into the room I was very surprised - I got a small room with one small window. just when I talked with the staff they checked over and over again and luckily they had an availble bad to gave me to the biger room which was much more better but not clean! Also its a shame that they charg money for a storege room!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We appreciate your input and will take your advice to better our services. We hope to see you soon!

  • 74%
  • 08 Apr 2014 David Israel
  • at first you'll find the area a bit sketchy, however it's not as unsafe that might seems. it's a ok hostel, not in manhattan, but you can easily get there by subway which is just a few blocks from the hostel. they should improve the wifi, because while my stay there were times it's was just not working at all.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We have since improved our internet service. We hope to see you soon!

  • 66%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Have a storage room for luggage, which they may or may not charge you $3/day for. I got lucky and didn't get charged! Most of the staff at the front desk were pleasant. Some of the activities advertised on the website here aren't up to date. For example I think they no longer do fondue on Sunday nights. Perhaps worth calling ahead if that's important to you.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We offer fondue during the winter time and BBQ during the summer. We hope to see you soon!

  • 83%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • 部屋はもちろん共有エリアもいつも清潔で掃除も行き届いたホステルで満足です。割り当てられる部屋やベッドによっては不都合が少しあるかもしれません。備品の細かいとろまでは完全にケアされてないかも、しかし金額を考えればまずまず良い宿でした。
    Owner Comment

    あなたのレビューをありがとうございました !

  • 83%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous
  • The only thing is that my driver's license was required when the staff member was checking me in, and she forgot to give it back to me :( Thank goodness I happened to come downstairs to ask a question that was totally unrelated, and then she was like, oh, by the way, you left your license here and I was thinking of bringing it up to you but got preoccupied. Bummer man. Other than that, she was highly attentive and cordial.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Joanna USA
  • Good relation price / quality and just 15 minutes from 14th Street.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 89%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Christian Peru
  • It's my second time here, I like it very much! But sometimes the heater is not working very well though.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We have since improved our heating system. We hope to see you soon!

  • 63%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • Please improve the size of the lockers, they are too tiny!!!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We will look into getting larger lockers! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • It's a good hostel with friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional staff. The room is spacious. BBQ on Wednesdays and Fridays are appreciated. However the water was luke-warm in the shower and we had cold water in our sink although they fixed it after we told them. But overall it's a nice hostel, enjoyable experience, I'll come back again!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »