See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 81% from 36 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 69%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good relation price / quality and just 15 minutes from 14th Street.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 89%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Christian Peru
  • It's my second time here, I like it very much! But sometimes the heater is not working very well though.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We have since improved our heating system. We hope to see you soon!

  • 63%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • Please improve the size of the lockers, they are too tiny!!!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We will look into getting larger lockers! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • It's a good hostel with friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional staff. The room is spacious. BBQ on Wednesdays and Fridays are appreciated. However the water was luke-warm in the shower and we had cold water in our sink although they fixed it after we told them. But overall it's a nice hostel, enjoyable experience, I'll come back again!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Ko-ting Taiwan
  • hostel is in a great Location, very close to the subway (L-Train that goes to Manhattan in a few stops). Lots of vintage Shops, Restaurants. Bars and Cafes nearby. our room was small but clean, the bottom bunk was wide enough to sleep two comfortably. bath room and sink were on the small side too. the hostel has free breakfast and other activities like movie night, barbeque and staff were always happy to help you out with any questions.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 100%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Elisabeth Austria
  • This hostel is located in an industrial zone at Brooklyn, I went with my girlfriend and two blocks away from the hostel I was almost stolen by two black guys. We had to take a taxi to arrive to the hostel because no one knew how to get there so GPS was absolutely necessary. It was really a bad experience in my trip, don't stay at this hostel you will not be peaceful at all
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! Our neighborhood is slowly but surely up and coming into a safer place for our guests. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience. We hope to see you soon!

  • 34%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Nicolás Colombia
  • Very funky hostel. Clean and tidy and it looks just like in the photos. Rooms are very spacious. The only caution I would give is that the neighbourhood takes a lot of getting used to and it's pretty scary at night. Everyone says it's safe and I had no problems at all but I didn't feel too safe. It's not the trendy part of Brooklyn but then the price is very good for what you get and it's literally 5 mins from the subway and then 20 mins to Manhattan.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 89%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Michelle Australia
  • I liked this place, very nice and complete. Looks and feels like a German hostel (The best!). The area around it is "hipster-town", so even tho I came back at 4am one day, it feels safe (Even tho it probably used to be a edgy 'hood 20 years ago or so). Subway is nearby. Nice common areas. No bunk beds! The only thing they need to add, is something to hang stuff in the bathrooms, and the front door needs to open only with the card key (Or ring the door), and it'd be the perfect hostel!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 94%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Everyone says Brooklyn is a dangerous place, but I didnt feel that. This hostel was the best of where I stayed. Number of beds are fewer than average hostel, so you dont have to care much about others. The room was clean and the bed was new. Bathroom was clean. They have a great patio, which has a big TV upstairs and BBQ party once a week. Staff was informative and friendly. The place is a bit problem because its far from Manhattan, but I love this hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 89%
  • 24 Sep 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • the charge for using computer is a little bit expensive.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We appreciate your input. We hope to see you soon!

  • 80%
  • 23 Sep 2013 Sarah Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »