See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 82% from 58 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very funky hostel. Clean and tidy and it looks just like in the photos. Rooms are very spacious. The only caution I would give is that the neighbourhood takes a lot of getting used to and it's pretty scary at night. Everyone says it's safe and I had no problems at all but I didn't feel too safe. It's not the trendy part of Brooklyn but then the price is very good for what you get and it's literally 5 mins from the subway and then 20 mins to Manhattan.
  • 89%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Michelle Australia
  • I liked this place, very nice and complete. Looks and feels like a German hostel (The best!). The area around it is "hipster-town", so even tho I came back at 4am one day, it feels safe (Even tho it probably used to be a edgy 'hood 20 years ago or so). Subway is nearby. Nice common areas. No bunk beds! The only thing they need to add, is something to hang stuff in the bathrooms, and the front door needs to open only with the card key (Or ring the door), and it'd be the perfect hostel!
  • 94%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Everyone says Brooklyn is a dangerous place, but I didnt feel that. This hostel was the best of where I stayed. Number of beds are fewer than average hostel, so you dont have to care much about others. The room was clean and the bed was new. Bathroom was clean. They have a great patio, which has a big TV upstairs and BBQ party once a week. Staff was informative and friendly. The place is a bit problem because its far from Manhattan, but I love this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 24 Sep 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • the charge for using computer is a little bit expensive.
  • 80%
  • 23 Sep 2013 Sarah Taiwan
  • Definitely hipster but also awesome. The cleanliness was so-so but not a big deal overall. My one big thing was the meal times - what's the point of having late check-out times if you still have to get up three hours beforehand to have breakfast?
  • 71%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Alexa Germany
  • Very nice hostel. Good value for money. It's not the best location in Brooklyn (try not get there at night as I did) but it's a good hostel. It's a cheap alternative if you're staying a few days in NY as it's conveniently located 2 blocks away from the subway and it takes 20 min to be in Manhattan.
  • 77%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Maria Florencia Argentina
  • Probably the best hostel I'd stayed in so far, great spacious and modern rooms and the whole place had a good feel good, modern/trendy vibe. Good facilities out the back in the kitchen, no hidden costs and the free BBQ was a bonus twice a week! Met some great people here also.
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Shane England
  • For $60-65 per night, sharing 3 beds in one room isn't bad. But I paid the same amount for a private room with two double beds at the Greenpoint YMCA, which is one step below a 2 star hotel with no kitchen. The bathrooms depend on which one you get near your room and due to water pressure. The atmosphere is a little strange in the kitchen/lounge in the loft and outdoor patio. The breakfast is mainly dry food with fruits. Main advantage is near subway stop.
  • 60%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Donna USA
  • Great experince. It would have been nice to have blankets easily acessable.
  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Patrick USA
  • Decent place to stay for a night or few. Metro station nearby, easy to get around in the city. The area itself is as 'hipster' as promised. Look close and you can find really good restaurants etc. there, too. We appreciated the opportunity of having breakfast in the morning, though the options could have been a little more healthy (whole meal, less sugar). I might have rather paid for a proper breakfast than for the luggage storage. Soap (e.g. suspender) would be nice in private bath rooms, too.
  • 71%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Hanna-emilia Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »